Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Traces of Mercy November 4, 2013

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:57 am
Tags: , ,

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Traces of Mercy
David C. Cook (October 1, 2013)
by
Michael Landon Jr. and Cindy Kelley

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Michael Landon Jr., son of television legend Michael Landon, is an award-winning storyteller, first in television and film, and now in books. His print works include One More Sunrise co-written with Tracie Peterson.

****

Cindy Kelley is the co-author of the novel The Silent Gift, and Traces of Mercy. Her career as a screenwriter with long-time writing partner, Michael Landon, Jr., began with the adaptation of Margery Williams’ classic story, The Velveteen Rabbit, which had a theatrical release. Several television movies followed, most notably Love Comes Softly, (based on Janette Oke’s novel) which won a CAMIE Award and the Epiphany Prize for Movie Guide’s most inspirational television movie of 2003. Cindy and her husband, Jim, make their home in the Southwest; have three adorable grandchildren and four big dogs who rule the house.
ABOUT THE BOOK

From Michael Landon Jr. and Cindy Kelley, authors of The Silent Gift and creators of the hit television film Love Comes Softly, comes an exciting historical romance set in post-Civil War, and filled with suspense and faith-building values.

At the war’s end, a young woman suffers an accident that leaves her unconscious and alone. Waking with amnesia, she takes the name Mercy and wants more than anything to find out the truth of her past. But then a handsome stranger arrives, who may hold the key to everything she has forgotten. What he knows could devastate her future, and even end her life.

Written by two proven storytellers, Traces of Mercy is perfect for anyone who loves historical fiction, prairie-based tales, or just a good romance.

If you’d like to read the first chapter of Traces of Mercy, go
HERE.

My thoughts and giveaway:

I have to tell you an interesting story….I didn’t sign-up to review this book because I didn’t think I would really like it, but somehow I got put on the list by accident and received it. So I figured God wanted me to Traces of Mercy so I did.

I am SOOOOO glad I got put on the list because I loved it.

Yes, this book had everything I look for in a good read. My heart twisting over the romance, strong characters, a great plot and excellent writing.

I was surprised that by the end of the first chapter you know Mercy’s secret….sort of. As you read you realize you really don’t know that much about her. Why was she living the life she was before she lost her memory? And what happens when she falls in love? Wonder if she’s married to someone else?

This book really deals with identity. Don’t we all have those moments when we wonder who we really are? Apart from Christ we’ll never know the answer.

Mercy doesn’t know who she was, but she knows who she is now. She struggles to embrace the happiness that is offered her. Then her past comes back to haunt her, someone who remembers who she used to be. I have dealt with that in my own life. People who knew me before I knew who I was in Christ. They don’t know the changes that have occurred and think I am the same selfish person I once was.

It’s in those moments we have a choice to make, know who we are now or go back to the person we used to be. Mercy must make the same decision. Which will she choose?

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping or Books-A-Million.

Leave a comment by November 10th at 5:00 pm to be entered in the drawing to win your own copy. (U.S. residents only)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance in exchange for an honest review.

 

29 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Traces of Mercy”

  1. Annette Says:

    Sounds like a really good bool

  2. Judy Says:

    Intriguing. I explored my own ideas of what if you didn’t know who you are. I’ve added this one to my wish list.

  3. Karen Spiegel Says:

    Sounds like a really interesting story. Would love to win it. Thank you.

  4. Barbara Thompson Says:

    I’ve read good reviews about this book. Book sounds fantastic. Looking forward to reading it. Thank you for the chance of this giveaway and please enter my name.

  5. Katie Johnson Says:

    I’m very much looking forward to reading this book. I’d be so happy to win my very own copy.

  6. Sonja Says:

    Sounds so nice. We all have to find out about who we really are and want to become. Hope to win!

  7. Hello Melissa. The book sounds like a good one. Can’t imagine hoe these people feel when they lose there memory of who they are. I would be happy to win this book. Thanks for the give-away. Maxie mac262(at)me(dot)com

  8. lorlyn63 Says:

    This sounds like a good book – always been a fan of Michael Landon, Jr’s films! I would be honored to win a copy of it. Thank you for the giveaway!

    God’s Blessings,
    Lori

  9. chris granville Says:

    Sounds like a great book
    God bless you
    Chris Granville
    granvilleATfrontiernetDOTnet

  10. B. Adams Says:

    I enjoyed reading your thoughts, Melissa. This sounds like an wonderful story!

  11. Janet Estridge Says:

    We have Michael’s books in the church library. I would love to win this one to add to our shelves.
    Thanks for entering me in the giveaway.

  12. Melanie Backus Says:

    I enjoyed the post. This sounds like a wonderful story.

  13. This sounds like a book I would really enjoy, thank you for the chance to win it.

    wfnren(at)aol(dot)com

  14. Katie Johnson Says:

    Looks like an excellent story I know I would enjoy reading.

  15. Two weeks in a row random.org has picked lucky number 7!!! Congrats Maxie. I will be emailing you to get your address. Thanks to everyone for commenting.

  16. […] been waiting a year to read this book. I absolutely loved the first book. You can read my review here. But, sometimes second books can be […]


Leave a Reply

