Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Thrive December 6, 2013

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:41 am
Tags: , ,

unsplash_525b54bcc32ba_1Our family has a tradition at Christmastime. We write down the best thing that happened to us that year. I type up everyone’s answer and put it all in a scrapbook to be looked at the following year.

Recently I was typing up all the best’s that were written down last year — yes, I always wait until the last minute. One family member wrote, “I survived another year.”

I looked at that statement and it just didn’t sit well with me. I thought to myself, I want to do more than survive. But for most of us we settle for that, don’t we? Surviving is good enough. Or maybe we don’t know there’s more to life than just surviving.

The definition of survive is: to remain or continue in existence; to endure or live through. (Dictionary.com)

Does that define you, your days, your years? Are you merely existing, or enduring each day? If I am being honest I would have to say that I do that more than I would like to admit. I endure another day at work, I exist another day.

The truth of this is sad. I know God did not create me to just survive.

The next day it hit me. I realized what word I wanted to substitute for survive; thrive.  He created all of us to thrive.

Thrive: to prosper; be fortunate or successful; to grow or develop vigorously; flourish. (Dictionary.com)

Doesn’t that sound a lot more exciting than surviving? Take a moment and look at the verses below that use the word prosper and flourish. Ask yourself if these verses are true of your life.

Father of the fatherless and protector of widows is God in his holy habitation. God settles the solitary in a home; he leads out the prisoners to prosperity, but the rebellious dwell in a parched land. Psalm 68:5-6 (ESV) Here’s my new favorite song that sings this verse, click here.

 A generous person will prosper; whoever refreshed others will be refreshed. Proverbs 11:25 (NIV)

But I am like an olive tree flourishing in the house of God; I trust in God’s unfailing love for ever and ever. Psalm 52:8 (NIV)

The lives of God-loyal people flourish; a misspent life is soon bankrupt. Proverbs 15:6 (The Message)

If you answered these verses are not true of you, I have great news; we serve a redeemer. Starting right now, today, we can all begin to thrive.

Meditate on the verses above and apply them to your life. How you do that will look different from how I will do that. Ask God to show you how to prosper and flourish and develop vigorously, He is faithful and He will show you.

Lets reach for this goal together. At the end of each year what will you be writing? Will you write, “I survived another year?” Or will be you writing, “I thrived another year”?

Join our tradition…what’s the best thing that happened to you this year? Share in the comments, we would love to celebrate with you.

 

6 Responses to “Thrive”

  1. Judy Says:

    I’m doing the impossible, or least I thought it was for me.

  2. My debut novel, The Moses Conspiracy, released in March 2013. There’s a whole lot more to the story, but you asked for only one. 🙂

  3. […] Thrive (5020genesis.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

