Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Broken Identity by Sarah Jae Foster December 23, 2013

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:46 pm
Tags: , ,

broken

Broken Identity

by

Sarah Jae Foster

Description:

A Christian woman has an affair.

It’s a betrayal beyond mention.

She stands to lose everything.

Mona Leigh Anderson, a good mother and even better wife, is unaware that her tidy and sheltered world is going to explode into a thousand pieces. And by her own hand, she launches the grenade of destruction.

Brian Anderson is a principled man, a leader in the church. Never in all his days did he believe his marriage could come to such a heart-rending testing of his faith, although this is exactly what he’s about to endure.

Damaged by deception and infidelity, Mona and Brian seek to repair the mistrust between them because that is the right thing to do. But can they truly let go of the past and of the most egregious of marital sins, and survive in this world of seduction?

My thoughts:

If you know my story you will know why I chose to review this book.

I have to say this book rocked me. I loved it and hated it. I hated it only because it was so real it made me remember when I was that woman and I didn’t like reading about her or the pain she put her husband through.

Yes, the book was that good, it was too real for me.

When I first started reading it I was rolling my eyes a bit because Brian, the husband, came off as too perfect and I was thinking if a husband is so perfect why would Mona cheat on him?

I am so glad I stuck with the book. By the end you realized that Mona was seeing her husband through her broken, shamefilled, eyes and making him perfect because all she sees is her sin. I have so been there.

It broke my heart to watch Mona slowly fade into a woman who would have an affair and I saw so much of me in her. It starts with insecurities on the inside and moves to trying to make her outside more appealing. She gets attention from a man and it just takes one small compromise that doesn’t seem like a big deal but then another compromise follows, and another and another. Soon that small compromise has snowballed into life changing choices.

My heart broke as I read about Brian discovering his wife’s infidelity and his choice to love her through it. I saw my husband in him and it made me sad to remember what I put him through.

But the book screams of redemption and God’s amazing grace and how He uses imperfect vessels like us to show that grace to other people.

I highly recommend this book whether you have had an affair or not. If you have it will remind you, or give you hope, that God’s grace is enough. If you haven’t had an affair it will give you a better understanding how a Christian woman can be deceived into falling into that sin.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or Books-A-Million.

An ebook copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

