Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: For the Love of Pete January 23, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:44 am
Tags: ,

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
For the Love of Pete
B&H Books (January 15, 2014)
by
Debby Mayne

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Debby Mayne is a best-selling author who has published more than 25 books and novellas, 400 short stories and articles, and devotions for women. She has also worked as managing editor of a national health magazine, product information writer for HSN, a creative writing instructor, and a copy editor and proofreader. Her novel, Love Finds You in Treasure Island, Florida received 4-1/2 stars from RT Book Review, and was named a Top Pick for the month of July. She and her husband Wally have two grown daughters, and live in Palm Harbor, Florida.
ABOUT THE BOOK

Widow Bethany Hanahan is trying in vain to fill an empty heart and an empty nest. The result is a home filled to the brim, but something is still missing. That’s when her new gardening club friends come to the rescue, encouraging her to let go of the past as well as the present clutter –emotional, spiritual, and physical. It’s not long before Bethany is finding friends, not bargains, to fill her days. But has her life become too full for someone like Pete Sprockett, a childhood friend, for whom her romantic feelings are beginning to bloom? Join the quirky, loving community of Bloomfield as they do what they do best – poke their well-meaning noses in and intervene in times of need –in author Debby Mayne’s second novel in what has become a five book series about a community where life is simple and love is real.

If you’d like to read the first chapter of For the Love of Pete, go HERE.

My thoughts and giveaway:

I was really excited to read this book because I enjoy Debby’s Class Reunion series so much. Unfortunately, I was a bit disappointed. But let me tell you what I liked first.

This book is full of great characters. They are quite funny and very scheming. Pete is an extremely nice guy and Bethany is a strong, if not somewhat confused, heroine.

Bethany likes to fill her life with stuff. Who hasn’t been guilty of that at one time or another? We often believe if we get more stuff or hold onto our stuff we will be happy, fulfilled. God is the only One who can satisfy us, but it can take us a long time to figure it out (some of us longer than others).

What I didn’t like so much was that the book seemed a bit choppy. I felt like I didn’t see the flow of movement in each character. There was also a lot of info. dumping in the first chapter. I think that could have been showed throughout the book instead of told to the reader through internal monologue.

As always, these are my thoughts only and I am sure there are others who had no problem with this book.

Grab yourself a copy and form your own opinion if this sounds like a story you might connect with 🙂

Or leave a comment to win your own copy and see what your think about the book for yourself. Deadline to enter is January 30th, 5:00 pm. (U.S. residents only)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance in exchange for an honest review.

 

7 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: For the Love of Pete”

  1. Thanks for the review. Sounds like an interesting story. I would love a chance to win this book from Debbie. Maxie mac262(at)me(dot)com

  2. Beth C Says:

    Sounds like a great cast of characters! I’d like to read this!!

  3. hollymag321 Says:

    Thanks for your honest review, I love the way you still focused on the positives of the story. I would love a chance to read this book

    • Thanks Holly,

      I do try to find positives even if the book didn’t connect with me. It will connect with someone. Not to mention someone worked really hard to write the book and it’s a piece of art….subjective.

      • hollymag321 Says:

        I struggle sometimes on how to write a positive review for a book I didn’t care for. There’s only been one book that I’ve gone back to the publisher and said “I can’t write this review” The kicker is the author is extremely popular and I have a friend how LOVED the book. I just couldn’t stomach it!
        I was very impressed with your review and appreciated it. I’m sure the author did too, and I honestly. I hope I win the copy!


Leave a Reply

