Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: With Autumn’s Return January 27, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:21 pm
Tags: , ,

with autumn's return

With Autumn’s Return

by

Amanda Cabot

About the book (from the publishers website):

She’s planning on instant success. She didn’t plan on love.

When Elizabeth Harding arrives in Cheyenne to open her medical practice, she is confident that the future is as bright as the warm Wyoming sun. Certain she’ll have a line of patients eager for her services, she soon discovers the town may not welcome a new physician–especially a lady doctor. Even Jason Nordling, the handsome young attorney next door, seems to disapprove of her chosen profession.

When a web of deceit among Cheyenne’s wealthiest residents threatens to catch Elizabeth and Jason in its snare, they must risk working together to save one of Elizabeth’s patients–even if it means falling in love.

My thoughts and giveaway:

This is the first book by Amanda that I have read and I REALLY liked it. Picking up her book was like meeting a new friend. Her writing drew me in instantly and I didn’t want to put the book down.

This is the third book in the Westward Winds series but Amanda does a great job of making you feel like you haven’t missed a thing. Although there are references to characters that are in the other books you don’t feel like you’re late to the party.

Elizabeth is a strong heroine who I liked immediately. She is strong in what she believes in and doesn’t compromise. She isn’t afraid to stand up to those who doubt her and she is one smart lady đŸ™‚

Jason is a wonderful hero. At first he makes it hard to like him because he is hard on Elizabeth but as he softens towards her you will soften towards him. He desires to protect her and will do what it takes…..even fall in love.

I love that Elizabeth is willing to help those that others would deem unworthy. She shows the love of Christ to women who don’t often see it through other humans. That’s my heart’s cry as well.

At one point, at the end, Elizabeth (or maybe it was Jason, I can’t remember) sums up the events that lead to the moment she is in….it’s a total Genesis 5020 moment đŸ™‚

Overall, a great historical romance that I highly recommend. I am now an Amanda Cabot fan!

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping or Books-A-Million.

Win a copy by leaving a comment by February 2nd at 5:00 PM to be entered in a drawing. (U.S. residents only)

Visit Amanda’s website here.

A copy of this book was given to me by Revell publishing in exchange for an honest review.

 

20 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: With Autumn’s Return”

  1. Patty H Says:

    I read the series Amanda wrote before this one and really enjoyed it, but haven’t had a chance to read any of this series. Thanks for the opportunity!

  2. Lis K Says:

    I read the first two books in this series and really enjoyed them! I am also an Amanda Cabot fan! Thanks for the giveaway.
    garfsgirl [at] hotmail [dot] com

  3. I can’t imagine the struggles of taking on a ‘man’s’ position way back when! You would have had to have a strong constitution to do it!

    missionwife AT hotmail DOT com

  4. Amyc Says:

    I love love love Amanda’s writing. Can’t wait to read this one !
    Campbellamyd at gmail dot com

  5. I have not read any of Amanda’s books but they sound very good and especially love the cover on this one. I sure would be happy if I could win this book. This was a good review Melissa. Thanks, Maxie mac262(at)me(dot)com

  6. Sounds like a really great book
    God bless you Please have a terrific day

    Chris

  7. Maryann Says:

    I am glad you enjoyed Amandas book. She is also a new author to me and I have not read any of her books. I love the cover and also it sounds like a great story.

  8. ELIZA ELLIOT Says:

    I’ve read a few of Amanda…not in this series though..I’ll have to look up the first two! thanks for the chance to win.

  9. What’s not to love about a story set in the American West of the 19th Century featuring a heroine in a non-traditional occupation? I’d love to read Ms. Cabot’s book. Thanks for the opportunity to participate in the contest, Melissa. Blessings!

    bizzysyb[at]gmail[dot]com

  10. I forgot to answer the question. I know Elizabeth must have had a rough time fighting for her recognition as a doctor back then. Glad she didn’t give up. Also they just helped anyone who needed it, as a doctor should do. Maxie

  11. Amanda Cabot Says:

    Melissa — Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review my book. I’m delighted that you enjoyed Elizabeth and Jason’s story.

    And to all of you who said you like my writing, many, many thanks. You’re the reason I write.


Leave a Reply

