Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

There’s No I in God…..or is There? January 31, 2014

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:56 am
Tags: , ,

hands 2The other day someone approached me and said that all of our worship songs are about “I, me, we, us” and that they like hymns better because they aren’t that way.

I was caught off guard, I told them I would have to mull that over.

As I thought about that comment I realized most hymns contain these same words, “This is MY Story,” “I’LL Fly Away,” “Bless Assurance Jesus is MINE,” “Be Thou MY Vision,” “What can wash away MY sin.” The list can go one but I think you get the hint.

My point here is that I, me, we, us, are in God. I don’t know how to sing about God without me in it because I am in Jesus!!! His word says abide in Me and I will abide in you. He created us for relationship and with relationship comes words like we and us. Without a relationship we just have religion and I don’t want that.

Our ancestors understood that when they were writing hymns, we need to be in Christ and He needs to be in US. Jesus is Mine, and I want His vision to be MY vision.

I don’t want to take me out of Jesus, or Jesus out of me, do you? I would be lost, hopeless.

We aren’t being self-centered in our worship when we sing about how much WE love Jesus, how He saved US. We are being completely God-centered and that is the only way we should be.

It is because of him that you are in Christ Jesus, who has become for us wisdom from God—that is, our righteousness, holiness and redemption. 1 Corinthians 1:30 NIV

 

6 Responses to “There’s No I in God…..or is There?”

  1. Annette Says:

    I agree with you. God is good! and he loves me. Hard to believe sometimes.

  2. Judy Says:

    Without God, I am lost. Without God, I am nothing. Without God, I am hopeless. God doesn’t need me to be God, but He wants me. The responsibility is on me to choose God because God has already chosen me. Jesus suffered and died for me. That’s about as personal as it gets. Jesus says, “Come unto me” and “Follow me.” Thanks, Melissa, for reminding me to focus on the most important relationship in my life. God bless.

  3. Karen Spiegel Says:

    Good one, Melissa. I totally agree. How can we worship our Lord and Savior if we aren’t in it?


Leave a Reply

