Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Fay Lamb February 5, 2014

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:55 pm
Tags: ,

fay lamb Today we get write to the point with Fay Lamb. I interviewed her a while ago. You can read her first interview here. She has been very busy and has a lot to share with us (including a book that that will be free on Kindle soon and a giveaway).

Tell us about your newest book.

My most recent work is a novella collaboration. Write Integrity Press and Pix-N-Pens Publishing does this well, and I have been so blessed to be a part of all three of three of the novellas. Each center around a heroine who has some type of journey.

A Dozen Apologies is our latest. It is being posted on our publisher’s website: www.writeintegrity.blogspot.com, daily, Monday through Friday up until February 5. Here is the story:

Mara Adkins, a promising fashion designer, has fallen off the ladder of success, and she can’t seem to get up.

In college, Mara and her sorority sisters played an ugly game, and Mara was usually the winner. She’d date men she considered geeks, win their confidence, and then she’dA DOZEN APOLOGIES FINAL FRONT COVER (265x400) dump them publicly. When Mara begins work for a prestigious clothing designer in New York, she gets her comeuppance. Her boyfriend steals her designs and wins a coveted position. He fires her, and she returns in shame to her home in Spartanburg, South Carolina, where life for others has changed for the better.

Mara’s parents, always seemingly one step from a divorce, have rediscovered their love for each other, but more importantly they have placed Christ in the center of that love. The changes Mara sees in their lives cause her to seek Christ. Mara’s heart is pierced by her actions toward the twelve men she’d wronged in college, and she sets out to apologize to each of them. A girl with that many amends to make, though, needs money for travel, and Mara finds more ways to lose a job that she ever thought possible.

Mara stumbles, bumbles, and humbles her way toward employment and toward possible reconciliation with the twelve men she humiliated to find that God truly does look upon the heart, and that He has chosen the heart of one of the men for her to have and to hold.

On February 5, after the readers have met each of Mara’s heroes, they will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite. The winning hero will get the last chapter of the story, and you know what that means. He gets the girl.

Then from February 14 through February 16, the novella will be offered for free on Kindle.

I had the wonderful pleasure of interviewing each of the heroes, and those heroes have been posted on my On the Ledge blog: http://faylamb.com/ontheledge/on-the-ledge/ where I have also included a sort of “behind the scenes” look at writing for a collaborative novella.

Readers, Write Integrity Press has put out a couple of collaborative books and they are very well written. I have no doubt this one will have the same great quality of writing. You will want to grab this read when it comes out.

What do you do when you’re not writing?

I’m getting ready to sound like I’m having a pity party here, but it’s not that. I’m busy, and busy translates to being blessed for me. I keep the books for my husband’s appraisal business and my son’s lawn care. I’m an acquisition/copy editor for Pelican Book Group, and I also do freelance editing. I have been doubly blessed to receive multi-book contracts on multi-book series, so when not writing, I’m plotting, and editing.

Where do you get your ideas?

My ideas come to me in various ways:

I see an actor/actress on television and something catches my eyes. I begin to watch their various roles and somewhere within the different characters they play, I develop my own and place him or her into a situation. Gideon Tabor the hero from my novel, Charisse, is actually a mix of Brendan Frazier from The Mummy and a lesser known serious film entitled Gods and Monsters.

I’m asked for an idea, and the Gals in the Steno Pool start sending messages to me. That’s how Mara developed in A Dozen Apologies and my hero, Jonathan Swain from A Ruby Christmas was born the same way.

I visit a place, and it stays within my heart. I begin to mix reality with my imagination, and the characters are created for the location. The characters in my Serenity Key series (book one to be published later this year) and my Amazing Grace series (Stalking Willow and Better than Revenge have released) came to me this way. They were simply citizens of the town who waved their hands and said, “Boy, do we have stories for you.”

Do you outline or are you a seat-of-the-pants writer?

I used to be a 100% seat of the pants writer. Now, I’m finding it a little more difficult to do. I have not yet succumbed to the dreaded outline. I tend to either adapt the LOCK system as taught by James Scott Bell or to use Scrivner and actually put the titles and the scenes on the pages and write into there. Scrivner is a God-send.

Have you written a book you love that you have not been able to get published?

Storms in Serenity was that book for me. Then I got brave and I sent it to my editor. She contracted it. Storms, as I have affectionately called it for thirty-five years (yes, you read that correctly), is the story of my heart. It is a massive undertaking, a modern-day retelling of the aftermath of David’s sin with Bathsheba. With its fourteen characters, two main plots, and six subplots developed to show that sexual sin is not a “private” sin as most believe, it is also the story I used to practice the elements of storytelling, so I always imagined it would be the book that would never see the light of day. I’m very happy for the opportunity to share the message of this novel.

Now I do have three books that I’ve started that have not received contracts, but the publisher just asked me to hold off until we publish the three series they have contracted. Then at least I know that those three are still available while I begin to work on others.

Are you like any of the characters in your book?

While Mara’s story is a multi-author (eleven, to be exact) collaboration, she is my brainchild. When I wrote the opening scene she came to life as a woman out of her element. For the story, that element was back at home doing lower pay grade jobs. In truth, Mara was always out of her element, in college and in the prestigious career she lost. As the other talented authors began to bring her to life, I think we all realized that Mara was just a bundle of insecurity, and that insecurity caused her to hurt people in order to build herself up.

Now, while I can honestly say that I never had the desire to tear anyone down to build myself up, I do think that Mara’s insecurities were presented because, like her, I am never comfortable in my own skin. I try to be as real as I can, and I try to be nice to everyone, but I’m always frightened in new situations, and I always second-guess my abilities. So, for Mara, that is definitely a part of me that she inherited.

Are you working on a new project now?

I’m working on several new projects at the moment: the third books in the Amazing Grace and Ties that Bind series Everybody’s Broken and Hope respectively. I’m currently editing Storms in Serenity, and I’m constantly throwing new ideas to my publisher.

Anything you would like to add?

My next novel in the Ties that Bind series, Libby, will release in winter/spring 2014.

And thank you for allowing me this opportunity to share my stories. I appreciate it so much.

BIO:

charisseFay Lamb’s emotionally charged stories remind the reader that God is always in the details. Fay has contracted with Write Integrity Press for three series. Stalking Willow and Better than Revenge, Books 1 and 2 in the Amazing Grace romantic suspense series are currently available for purchase. Charisse the first release in her The Ties That Bind contemporary romance series has been released.

Future Write Integrity Press releases from Fay are: Everybody’s Broken and Frozen Notes, Books 3 and 4 of Amazing Grace and Libby, Hope and Delilah, Books 2 through 4 from The Ties that Bind. Also, look for Book 1 in Fay’s Serenity Key series entitled Storms in Serenity.

Fay and her husband, Marc, reside in Titusville, Florida, where multi-generations of their families have lived. The legacy continues with their two married sons and six grandchildren.

Links for Fay:

http://faylamb.com (Fay’s website and blog: On the Ledge)

http://facebook.com/fay.lamb (personal FB page)

http://facebook.com/AuthorFay (Fay’s fan page)

http://twitter.com/FayLamb (Fay’s Twitter address)

http://faylamb.com/innersource/ (Inner Source Blog)

http://tacticaleditor.faylamb.com/ and http://facebook.com/TacticalEd

http://faylamb.com/ontheledge/on-the-ledge/

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1482814.Fay_Lamb

Giveaway!!!! Readers, Fay  is giving away your choice of one of her books. Click on the title to read what each book is about so you can make your choice. Leave a comment by February 11th at 5:00 pm to be entered.

Stalking Willow

Better Than Revenge

Charisse

 

9 Responses to “Write to the Point with Fay Lamb”

  1. jenlhall63 Says:

    I can’t wait to read “Libby.” 🙂

  2. Fay Lamb Says:

    Melissa: Thank you for allowing me to share on Write tot he Point. And Jennifer, if you’re willing to wait, I’ll be happy to add Libby to the choice for giveaway. It won’t be released until later this month, though.

  3. B. Adams Says:

    Thank you for sharing this interview with Fay. All of her books sound great! I would love to read STALKING WILLOW!

    texaggs2000 at gmail dot com

  4. Alyce Says:

    Charisse sounds like a book I would enjoy. I would love to win it!

  5. I would love a chance to win Better than Revenge. Thank you for this opportunity. clSwalwell@gmail.com

    in Him,

    Cheri 🙂

  6. Random.org picked #3! Thank you all who commented.


Leave a Reply

