Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: A Match Made in Texas February 6, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:53 pm
Tags: ,

a match made

About

There’s a secret matchmaker at work in frontier Texas!

In the small town of Dry Gulch, Texas, a good-hearted busybody just can’t keep herself from surreptitiously trying to match up women in dire straits with men of good character she hopes can help them. How is she to know she’s also giving each couple a little nudge toward love?

A Cowboy Unmatched Neill isn’t sure who hired him to repair Clara’s roof–he only knows Clara desperately needs his help. Can he convince this stubborn widow to let down her guard and take another chance on love?
An Unforeseen Match Hoping to earn an honest wage on his way to the land rush, Clayton ends up on Grace’s doorstep, lured by a classified ad. He may have signed on for more than he expected though–and he may have found the one woman who can keep him from moving on.
No Match for Love Andrew can’t fathom how refined Lucy ended up as the caretaker to his dotty aunt, and somehow her arrival has prompted even more bizarre occurrences around the ranch. When they join forces to unearth the truth, will the attraction between Andrew and Lucy develop into more?
Meeting Her Match When the tables are turned and a tenderhearted meddler becomes the beneficiary of a matchmaking scheme, her world is turned upside down. As her entire life changes, will she finally be able to tell the banker’s son how much she cares for him?

My thoughts and giveaway:

What a great collection of stories all in one book.

This books has it all…heart wrenching romance, joy, sorrow, I even laughed out loud in one story.

The match maker is kept a mystery until the last story. I had to stop myself from peeking until I reached the end but I controlled myself. But if you pay attention you might start to figure it out 🙂 I love the connection each book shares, there is nice thread throughout.

If you have read Karen Witemeyer’s other books about the Archer brothers you will especially enjoy the first story as it is about the youngest brother. Very cool that way she did that.

The second story was about a woman who was going blind. I have never read a book with a blind heroine and wasn’t sure how that would come off. But the author did such a great job using the senses that I never felt like I was missing anything.

The third story is about a woman who has lost everything and is starting over in a most unusual situation.

The final story is about the mysterious match maker meeting her match 🙂

You can even find some Genesis 5020’s throughout the stories!

I highly recommend this book to you historical romance lovers. You will not be disappointed.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping or Books-A-Million.

Learn more about the authors here.

Win a copy by leaving a comment by February 12th at 5:00 pm to be entered in a drawing. (U.S. Residents only)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

30 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: A Match Made in Texas”

  1. Karen Spiegel Says:

    This sounds like a book Annette and I would both enjoy. Would love to win it.

  2. Anna Weaver Says:

    I’ve heard good things about this book! Thanks for the giveaway. 🙂

  3. This sounds like a perfect ‘weekend’ book to read! I love all the combinations of emotions connected to love, matchmaking…

  4. This looks like a great collection. I love that they are all put together. Thanks for the giveaway!

  5. Pam K. Says:

    Mary Connealy and Karen Witemeyer are two of my favorite authors. I’ve also enjoyed books by Regina and Carol so A Match Made in Texas is a perfect book for me. I’d love to win a copy. I’m especially looking forward to Karen’s story about Neill since I really liked the previous books about the Archer brothers.
    Thanks for giving away this book.

  6. Michelle Says:

    I have heard so many good things about this book!

  7. Lis K Says:

    I love Karen Witemeyer and Mary Connealy, they write some funny books! Thanks for the giveaway!

  8. I love historical romance and this collection sounds delightful! I can’t wait to meet the secret matchmaker!! Thank you so much for the opportunity to win a copy of this book.

    texaggs2000 at gmail dot com

  9. Lady DragonKeeper Says:

    Wow, three of my favorite historical authors! This sounds like a neat story, or rather, stories! Thanks for the chance to win. jafuchi7[at]hawaii[dot]edu

  10. Three good authors equals a good book of three good stories. I have been trying to win this book for awhile. Thanks for the chance to try again. Melissa, good review.
    Please put my name in. Maxie mac262(at)me(dot)com

  11. Patty H Says:

    What a great group of authors! I am totally looking forward to reading this collection…

  12. Merry Says:

    This sounds like such a great collection of stories. I would love to read them and see who the matchmaker is. I will also try not to peak,but somehow I do that in some of the books I read. I love reading historical romance.

  13. Melanie Backus Says:

    What a great collection……great books, great authors……life is good.

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  14. I love several of these authors! All in 1 book! Thank You for sponsoring these wonderful giveaways!

  15. Alexis Says:

    Sounds like a delightful read! Would love to win! 🙂

  16. Random.org picked number one this week!! Thanks everyone who commented.


Leave a Reply

