Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Rachel by Jill Eileen Smith February 10, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:40 am
Tags: , , ,

rachel

Rachel

by

Jill Eileen Smith

From the back cover:

Can true love overcome a legacy of betrayal?

Rachel wants nothing more than for her older half sister Leah to wed and move out of their household. Leah wishes her father would find a good man who would love her alone. Unbeknownst to either of them, Jacob is making his way to their home, trying to escape a past laced with deceit and find the future God has promised him.
But the past comes back to haunt Jacob when he finds himself on the receiving end of treachery. The man who wanted only one woman ends up with sisters who have never gotten along and now must spend the rest of their lives sharing a husband. In the power struggles that follow, only one woman will triumph . . . or will she?
Combining meticulous research with her own imaginings, bestselling author Jill Eileen Smith not only tells one of the most famous love stories of all time but will manage to surprise even those who think they know the story inside and out.

My thoughts and giveaway:

I. Loved. This. Book.

Oh my, this book is a mess and I mean that in the best, dysfunctional way possible.

I don’t know about you, but I have read the story of Jacob, Rachel, and Leah many, many times and thought how horrible for them. I never liked Leah much because she went along with this plan to replace Rachel and then she had all these babies while Rachel couldn’t.

The way Jill writes this book had me completely torn. I still didn’t like Leah most of the time yet my heart hurt for her because she really did just want to be loved. Rachel is depicted at times as being a bit selfish and I didn’t even like her all of the time but then again, my heart was torn for her because she had her love stolen from her. She dreamed of her wedding night with Jacob and being his first love and she didn’t get to have that. Although Jacob clearly favored her and didn’t care if she had children or not. He loved her so much.

I never thought about how Jacob was really used as a pawn between these two women. When they couldn’t have children they made him sleep with their maids. The way Jill writes about it Jacob didn’t want to do that but it is the wife’s choice in which case he can’t refuse.

As I was reading about all these babies Leah had I went to the Bible and re-read the story because I knew Rachel had Joseph but I couldn’t remember where in the line-up. And…hello….Joseph is pretty dear to my heart since he was the one who said Genesis 5020!!!! Yay Joseph. It’s pretty amazing to think that as I am reading this story (which is fiction but based on true events) that Rachel’s child would have such a profound impact on my life and be the foundation of my blog. So cool. Isn’t God awesome how He can use things from so long ago to reach us now. The Bible is timeless.

I could go on and on but you just really need to read this one for yourself. It is so good and so messed up and isn’t that they way life is? We are one big mess but God loves us anyway.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping or Books-A-Million.

Visit Jill’s website here.

Win a copy by leaving a comment by February 16th at 5:00 pm. (U.S. residents only)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

27 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Rachel by Jill Eileen Smith”

  1. Debbie Curto Says:

    I would love to win ! I love her books

  2. Thank you for sharing the connection between Genesis 5020 and Josepth. I love books from the bible that have been written into fiction. I want the filler, the inbetween words!

    • Hi Melody,

      Yes, I agree, the filler is great. Even though it is the authors perception it’s fun to think it could have happened like that. It really makes the Bible stories come alive.

  3. Karen Spiegel Says:

    This book sounds fabulous. I agree with the comment above. I also love stories from the Bible put into fiction. It gives a whole different perspective. Would love to win this one.

  4. Michelle Says:

    This looks like a good book, I enjoy reading books from this perspective.
    bookwormgal2011 at yahoo dot com

  5. Hi, Melissa. Frankly, you had me at “I. Loved. This. Book.” LOL! I think it’s wonderful that a modern writer can breathe such a convincing layer of humanity into individuals we’ve come to think of more as “characters” than as actual people with the passage of time. I’d be thrilled to read Jill’s book. Thanks for the opportunity to participate in the give-away. Blessings!

    bizzysyb[at]gmail[dot]com

  6. This sounds like a great book
    God bless u
    Chris

  7. Patty H Says:

    What a neat connection to your blog! And what a dysfunctional story/family… I look forward to reading Rachel…

  8. karenk Says:

    thanks for the chance to read Rachel’s story 🙂

  9. lorlyn63 Says:

    Hi Melissa,

    I love to Biblical fiction stories – have read quite a few over the years, but never read one of Jill’s books. It sounds wonderful though and you are so right about us being a mess, but God makes something out of that mess! He usually picks the most unlikely of characters to advance His Kingdom! Thank you for the opportunity to win a copy of this book and thank you for featuring great authors! Blessings to you and to Jill and her writing!

    Lori
    triplel(at)evertek(dot)net

  10. What a wonderful review! I have not read one of Jill’s books and this sounds like a great one to start with! Thank you for the opportunity to win a copy of RACHEL.

    texaggs2000 at gmail dot com

  11. Melanie Backus Says:

    Thank you for a wonderful review. Jill is a new author to me so I am looking forward to reading her wonderful books. Thank you for the opportunity to be a winner.

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  12. lib1lady Says:

    Our Church Library readers love Biblical Fiction. Thanks for giving me the opportunity to win this book.

  13. martyomenko Says:

    I have enjoyed her biblical fiction in the past and I would love to read this one. Rachel and Leah are a hard one to understand sometimes! martha(at)lclink(dot)com

  14. Random.org chose #4. Thanks to all who commented. Your support means so much 🙂


Leave a Reply

