Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

In The Doorway February 21, 2014

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:38 pm
Tags: , , ,

I wrote this devo several years ago before my son even started school and it was only my daughter leaving the house, but I love the truth in this. Hope you will be blessed.

doorway 2Every morning I stand at my door and watch my daughter walk over to the neighbor’s house. I watch to make sure she gets there safely but I also watch and wait because there’s a chance she’ll turn around and wave at me.

Today was one of those mornings.

As she prepared to open the door and walk into the neighbor’s house she turned toward me smiled and waved. I waved back, happy that I waited so I could be there for her.

Most mornings she doesn’t wave or look for me. She just walks in the house without giving me much thought. But I want to be there for those days when she does need me to be there

As I thought about this God whispered, “I do that for you too.”

How true.

God waits in the doorways our lives, our days, waiting to be invited in. He waits on the wonderful moments when we remember Him and turn to Him.

He watches to make sure we get to where we need to go safely. Most days and moments we forget that He’s there and we keep marching along our merry way.

But that doesn’t mean He isn’t there. He wants to be there so when we do need Him to be He is at the ready, more than willing to wave back and do whatever is necessary for His child.

How sad that we don’t always remember that He stands at the door of our hearts. How sad that we often forget about Him and completely ignore His willingness to love us. I know how my heart smiled when my daughter waved at me today. Can you imagine how much more our Heavenly Father would smile and be pleased if we turned to him always, if we never did anything without realizing that He is with us, always?

Life becomes a great challenge when we go about our own way without taking the time to remember our Father is watching and waiting. He longs to be there for us but He won’t thrust Himself on any of us. He is patient — thank goodness — and loving.

Next time you are running around and feeling alone turn toward your Father, He’s standing in the doorway of your life. Why don’t you invite Him to stay awhile?

“Look! I stand at the door and knock. If you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in, and we will share a meal together as friends” Revelation 3:20

What about you? Are you going about life trying to make it without taking time with God? Or are you inviting Him into your life?

 

Leave a Reply

