Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: The Dream Dress February 24, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:39 am
Tags: , ,

the dream dress

The Dream Dress

by

Janice Thompson

About:

Big dreams take big leaps of faith . . . but what if you trip on the way? A lowly seamstress at a swanky bridal boutique, Gabi Delgado dreams of doing more than ripping out seams and fitting dresses to doe-eyed brides. She wants to see her own original dress designs gracing the young women of Texas. But when Jordan Singer, reporter for Texas Bride magazine, visits the shop to do a feature, Gabi is humbled in his influential–and unnervingly handsome–presence.
Convinced she’ll never get her dreams off the ground now, Gabi needs lots of encouragement–especially from her friend Bella Neeley–to take a chance and start her business. And as she gets to know Jordan, she discovers that she may have to take a chance on love as well.

My thoughts and giveaway:

This is the first book I have read by Janice and I really liked it. I love her light style. But in saying that the message in the book is anything but light.

First of all, if you enjoy any of those wedding shows on TV you will love reading this book. You will feel like you are getting a sneak peak into those bridal salons.

Gabi wants more and deserves more. She has been overlooked many times in her life, mostly by men. This has given her a warped idea of how men treat women and she has lumped all men into the same category. It began with her dad walking out on her and her mom when she was a kid and now she works for a man how doesn’t see her true abilities.

Then she meets Jordan and he throws everything she thought she knew about men out the window. He’s kind and see’s her and her talent. He’s nothing like the other men in her life.

Everyone around Gabi see’s her talent but she is in denial about her ability to really go on her own and become a designer. I can totally relate to this. I never felt like I was much of a piano player. I was good at singing and that was it, I even had a professor speak some very negative things to me. But when God gives us gifts He won’t let us hide them. Now I am a worship leader who sings and plays, I write music for the plays my students do and play them during the performance. I never sought out those opportunities but God guided me to them. And that is what He does with Gabi…but you’ll have to read the book to see how He accomplishes that.

There is a strong spiritual thread that I did appreciate, but it could come across a bit preachy sometimes and maybe a bit contrived. However, I didn’t feel that this took away from the story at all. It is a great story I flew right through.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, or Books-A-Million.

Visit Janice’s website here.

Leave a comment by March 2nd at 5:00 pm to win your own copy. (U.S. residents only)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

16 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: The Dream Dress”

  1. Beth C Says:

    I really enjoy wedding shows on TV so I know I’d love this. Thanks for the chance to win it.

  2. Merry Says:

    I love Janice Thompson’s books, they touch the heart, spirit and funny bone!

  3. I used to sew for my daughters and would dream of a similar life as I ripped out those seams. Would love to read this!

  4. Barbara Thompson Says:

    I’ve seen this book on a few other websites and it sounds like an awesome book. I would love to win this book. Thank you for the opportunity to enter this giveaway.

  5. Melanie Backus Says:

    The Dream Dress sounds like a winner. I would love to be one too. Thank you for the giveaway.
    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  6. I enjoy Janice Thompson and The Dream Dress sounds delightful! Thank you for sharing your review and giveaway!!

    texaggs2000 at gmail dot com

  7. hollymag Says:

    I LOVE Janice’s books! Thanks for the give away.

  8. Always enjoy Janice’s books.
    cllyrics (at) gmail (dot) com

  9. Lady DragonKeeper Says:

    I almost majored in fashion design, so I’m definitely interested in “The Dream Dress” –I haven’t read a book by Janice Thompson yet. Thanks for the opportunity to do so!


Leave a Reply

