Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

The Long Awakening March 18, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews,Tuesday Thoughts — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:44 am
Tags: , ,

the long awakening

The Long Awakening

by

Lindsey O’Connor

About:

The riveting true story of a life-threatening coma, a miraculous awakening, and the long quest to regain what was lost. The day our baby came into the world was the day I left. A day that began all smiles and excitement and anticipation and joy ended with running and panic and blood and tears. And then coma.
I lay suspended in the deep, my newborn unknown. Nothingness. Layers where dark pulled from below, light called from above, and me, trapped in between, longing to break the surface.
To live.
Forty-seven days later when I first saw my husband’s face leaning close to me, I knew where, and who, I was. But other things took much longer to know. Learning to restitch life–and love–when everything’s changed, and finding who we are afterward, can be the longest journey of all.
I’m Lindsey O’Connor, and this is the story of my long awakening.

My thoughts:

I am reviewing this book in honor of Brain Injury Awareness month.

This book sounded really interesting to me and it was. But I really struggled to follow it. The thoughts seemed very random which as first I understood. You are reading the book from Lindsey’s point-of-view and of course as she comes out of the coma she is confused.

Then the book bounces around a lot to different people, different times. This made it hard for me to stay engaged while reading.

There is a lot of beauty in this book, as Lindsey’s husband stays by her side and as you realize she hasn’t seen her baby in over a month and doesn’t even know if her baby is a live. I can’t even imagine going through that or what her older children had to experience not knowing when or if their mom would come home.

Even though I didn’t love this book you might and I always encourage you to make your own opinion. If the book sounds interesting you might want to give it try.

Visit Lindsey’s website here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble or Christianbook.com.

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

