Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

White Space March 21, 2014

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:45 am
Tags: ,

flower-on-the-bookAs an aspiring writer I have learned a lot about writing over the last few years. One thing I learned I think applies to your lives in Christ.

And that is…..leave room for white space on the page.

What does that mean?

I’m so glad you asked 🙂

When I open a book I look for two things. If I see them I know the book is worth reading.

1) Are there several paragraphs on the page? Are there indents which leave white space? If I open a book and see a big block of text I am turned off immediately. It looks like too much. I need room to breathe, I need to see white space.

2) Do I see quotation marks on the page? This means there is dialog. If I see only big blocks of text and no dialog I know I won’t like the book. Dialog (which is a conversation) is what moves the story along and adds tension to the plot.

So my question is if someone opened the book of your life and looked at your pages what would they see?

Are you leaving white space?

You see, I believe it is in the white space of our lives that God moves in. If we fill every space of our lives with stuff and things there’s not room left for God. I am so guilty of this in my own life.

I do, I do, I do and then I fill, I fill, I fill and my life is crowded.

This leads to no conversations with God. I am too busy. But conversations are what moves things along, including us.

Conversations with God move our hearts and lives closer to Him.

So, now it’s times for you to flip through your pages. What do you see? Does your life need some editing? Do things need to be deleted? Do you need to add some dialog?

Are you ready to add some white space to your page? Let’s get started right now. Here’s a link to one of my favorite worship songs, click here. Take a minute and just worship, sit in your Saviors presence.

Jesus loves you all so much. Never doubt, never forget. It is truth….the Bible tells us so.

Be still, and know that I am God! I will be honored by every nation. I will be honored throughout the world. Psalm 46:10 NLT

 

Leave a Reply

