Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Lena Nelson Dooley March 26, 2014

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:40 am
Tags: , , ,

Lena Nelson DooleyToday we get write to the point with Lena Nelson Dooley. I am sure you will enjoy learning more about this wonderful author. Read until the end. She has a giveaway for you.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I’ve been married to the love of my life for almost 50 years. We live in Texas. All of our children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren live close to us, except our army grandson. Actually, I’ve always written. I can’t not write. God created me to write, and I’d be writing, even if I weren’t being published.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

I come from a Christian home. Jesus, church activities and church friends have been a part of my life as long as I can remember. I asked Jesus into my heart when I was 7 years old. Then when I was in my late 20s, I had a dynamic experience with Him that has taken me deeper into His word and deeper in my relationship with Him. I can’t imagine living a life without Him in it.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

My last books are the recently completed McKenna’s Daughters series—Maggie’s Journey, Mary’s Blessing, and Catherine’s Pursuit. This series is about identical triplets who were born on one of the last wagon trains on the Oregon Trail. Their mother dies giving birth, and they are separated. They don’t find out until near their 18th birthday that they have sisters.

My books are romantic, but they deal with deep issues as well. They also have important secondary plots. These books deal with McKenna's Daughters-minebitterness, unforgiveness, a poor self-image, lack of commitment, etc. I want the readers to see these things lived out through the lives of my characters so if they are facing any of these things, they can see their way through with hope and grace.

What is your next project?

I’m the screenwriter on a movie project that should be ready for release by the end of 2014 or early 2015. I’m adapting another author’s book to the screenplay. The story is about truth, love, and hope told through a romantic suspense story, heavy on the suspense. It takes place in the late 20th century in the lives of persecuted Christians.

We’re in the midst of the crowd funding for the startup funds. Anyone can be a part of this wonderful project. Donation amounts from $1 to $10,000 with varying perks. Check them out here:

Abducted to Killhttp://indiegogo.com/projects/abducted-to-kill-the-christian-movie

http://abductedtokill.com

http://highergroundfilms.com

 

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

I blog 5 or 6 days a week. On my blog, I interview other Christian authors and help promote their books 5 days a week. On Saturdays, I sometimes feature Christian movies or other things. Check it out:

http://lenanelsondooley.blogspot.com

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

When I’m asked this, I often say it’s the one I’m reading right now. I have so many authors whose books I love. I did recently read a very intriguing book from an author I hadn’t read before. Friend Me by John Faubion. The premise was interesting, and it took the technology one step beyond what is available right now but was plausible. It’s also a suspense novel. What’s not to love.

Friend Me is on my wish list. It sounds very good.

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life? 

I am not a young woman, so there have been many such events. One I could share is that another publisher had my McKenna’s Daughters series and told my agent that they would send a contract after the first of the year. I was happy about that. But when the first of the next year came, their company decided to go another direction. That hurt … a lot. They had asked to keep the submission for quite a number of months.

But within four months after that, another publisher liked it, took it to committee quickly, and contracted me at a higher royalty percentage. The way things happened, both my agent and I saw God’s had move in many ways during that time.

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

I know many people have one life verse. I’ve had verses that God gave me for various periods of my life. The first one was Psalm 37:4-5 Delight thyself also in the Lord: and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart. Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass. This is the verse He gave me when He told me to become a professional writer.

The one that has been mine for the last several years is Philippians 3:10 That I may know him, and the power of his resurrection, and the fellowship of his sufferings, being made conformable unto his death; especially the phrase “That I may know him.”

Where can we find you on the web? A lot of places

Website:www.lenanelsondooley.com

Blog: Http://lenanelsondooley.blogspot.com

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/lenandooley/

Facebook: www.facebook.com/lena.nelson.dooley

Twitter: www.twitter.com/lenandooley

Official Fan Page: www.facebook.com/pages/Lena-Nelson-Dooley/42960748768?ref=ts

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/333031.Lena_Nelson_Dooley

http://www.christianbook.com/Christian/Books/cms_content?page=1728796&sp=67484&event=67484|1728796|67484

Shoutlife: www.shoutlife.com/lenanelsondooley

Blogtalk Radio: http://www.blogtalkradio.com/search/gate-beautiful-radio-show/

Other blogs where she’s a regular contributor:

http://christianfictionhistoricalsociety.blogspot.com/

http://justthewritecharisma.blogspot.com/

 

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

I love my readers. Many of them have become good friends. I love to hear from them through my website: www.lenanelsondooley.com. I also like to connect with them on social media. Or they can even write me letters. My mailing address is on my website as well.

And if you like reading my books, please write reviews of them on Christianbook.com, Amazon, Barnesandnoble, or other Internet sites. And tell the people you know about my books. Ask your local librarian to put them in the library. Things like the are blessings to authors.

Lena, thanks so much for sharing with my readers. I know they love hearing from authors.

Readers, Lena is giving away a PDF copy of your choice of one of her McKenna’s Daughters books. Just leave a comment by April 1st at 5:00 pm to be entered.

 

12 Responses to “Write to the Point with Lena Nelson Dooley”

  1. Susan P Says:

    Love the interview! I only have Maggie’s Journey so I need to get crackin and get the other two. Isn’t it crazy to see how God works in our lives, even when it hurts at the time? It’s only in the past 5 years that I really notice the “little” things like that in my life. I have grown up in a Christian household also, but was never taught to see those little guidances every day. I love looking back and seeing how God had worked!
    lattebooks at hotmail dot com

    • Hi Susan, thanks for stopping by and reading Lena’s interview. That is so great that you can see how God is working in your life, even in the little things, that’s how much you matter to Him 🙂

  2. Yes, Susan, thanks for stopping by, and Melissa, thanks for having me on the blog.

  3. I shall die if I don’t read Catherine’s Pursuit! I know to not start a series without having every book close by!

  4. Melody, they’re all three out now, so you wouldn’t have to wait.

  5. Hello Melissa and Lena. These books have intrigued me since I first hears about them. Can’t imagine babies who are born together and have to be raised in different homes. Tho, I can see how this father had to do what he could. Tho, my first choice would have been to see if some couple could take them all. Or at least two if he was going to keep one. I would be thrilled to win a PDF of one of her books. Some day they will be in my bookshelves. Lena, glad to see you live in Texas. Maybe someday you can have a book signing in the Houston area. I would love that. I too, was born into a Christian home so always knew about Jesus. I asked HIM into my life at 10. That was 69 years ago. Melissa, thanks for having Lena visit your blog. Maxie mac262(at)me(dot)com

  6. Melissa, I’ve decided to send a pdf file to each of those who comment here. It will have to be either Maggie’s Journey or Mary’s Blessing.

  7. Amanda Stephan Says:

    Loved this interview, and I love how God works in lives. Never ceases to amaze me when He allowed us to see that He’s there – working on our behalf and we just didn’t see it right away. I’m sorry that happened to you about the first publisher, Lena, but thrilled the second ended up being so much better! Thank you for sharing your heart with us today, and thank you for the fun!

  8. kellysshining Says:

    Thank you for sharing this interview with Lena Nelson Dooley. I love that she mixes romance with the not so simple life. No one’s life is just a walk in the park. I find stories like this so appealing and relatable. I am so stoked to also see that Lena is working on a screenplay. We need more Christian films. 🙂

    KellysShining(at)gmail(dot)com


Leave a Reply

