Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Dear Reader March 28, 2014

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:45 am
Tags: ,

writing-13931299342873AvD[2]This is letter I wrote several years ago to someone in my life who was moving away. As I reread it this week I felt like God wanted me to share with you and that someone needs to hear this. So I have edited it to take out the identity of the person I actually wrote this too. This letter might be for you. Maybe this is God speaking to you today.

Dear Reader,

I know we haven’t been close the last few years but it hasn’t always been this way. When you were born we spent a lot of time together. Anyway, you grew up, life changed didn’t it? But one thing that never changed was my love of you. I know I may not have always done a good job of showing it to you but I do love you and always will.

So, I thought I would write you a little letter before you set off for your adventure. This is a really big step and I would be lying if I didn’t tell you I was a bit scared for you. I am praying for your protection and that this will be all you hope it will be. That you will find whatever it is you are looking for.

The truth is I think deep down we are all looking for the same thing in life. We want to be accepted and fully known for who we are, we want to be loved. I know that was my driving force for years, to be loved and accepted. Unfortunately I never found that in people or things. They all eventually let me down and I was left feeling defeated.

I know right now you might not believe this but I hope you will hold on to this letter and refer to it. I really feel like this is stuff I need to share with you before you leave.

I have found what I have been looking for, it was actually with me my whole life. The love and acceptance I longed for is found in Jesus.

I am sure you are rolling your eyes and that is okay. But I know He is real, I know it. If it wasn’t for Him I would not still be married, I would have gotten a divorce a long time ago. I would also probably be dead because there have been times I wanted to die and thought it would be better for everyone else. But God never gave up on me. He used people in my life to show me His great love for me.

I am fully known and loved by Him. He will never let me down.

Now this doesn’t mean my life is perfect, no way!!!! But it does mean when junk comes into my life I know there’s a reason, a lesson I am to learn and I have a place to turn. My Heavenly Father.

I just discovered last summer that I never really trusted Him because of men in my life that have let me down. Men that I thought I could trust and have hurt me. I projected those feelings onto God because He is a Father. But I now know He is the only one I can trust and will never change.

The bottom line is this: God loves (put your name here) so much that sent His Son, Jesus, to the earth. Jesus came and walked the earth and died for (put your name here). He took the nails so one day you don’t have to. So you can spend eternity in Heaven, if you accept Him, but you must accept this free gift. I know surrendering to that seems scary but it is so worth it. You won’t be sorry. The alternative is not pretty, actually it’s downright deadly.

I know you may think this is a bunch of fluff and that is okay. God clearly told me to write this to you. I fought Him because it made me really uncomfortable but He told me to get over it. He has been uncomfortable many times. So I am obeying Him.

I am also giving you this verse:

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. In those days when you pray, I will listen. If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me. I will be found by you,” says the Lord. “I will end your captivity and restore your fortunes.”

A couple of things there: God has plans for you, His plans are for good, for hope and a future, His plans, not our plans. Don’t be deceived by that. I know I have, but I learned the hard way that my plans always lead to disaster.

He will listen to you when you talk to Him. If you look for Him with all your heart you will find Him.

And finally He will set you free. Often times we think we are free because we are making our own choices but really we are slaves to the devil, doing what he wants, which takes us away from God. It is all a trick. The devil tricks us into thinking we have more freedom if we follow him, I know because I have been there.

And in truth I was wrapped in chains but I didn’t know the difference. But when God set me free from my chains of pride, anger, shame, guilt, (the list goes on) I knew what real freedom looked like.

All right, I guess that is it. Just know that you are loved, always, you always have been. I love you for the person you are and the person you will one day be. Whether you believe any of this stuff is entirely up to you but I know I have been obedient and did what I was suppose to do.

Love you (always have),

Melissa

 

4 Responses to “Dear Reader”

  1. Judy Says:

    Thank you, Melissa, for listening to the prompting. You answered a desperate prayer, this morning.

  2. kellysshining Says:

    This was so dear to read. Thank you for your open heart.


Leave a Reply

