Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: For Such A Time April 22, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews,Tuesday Thoughts — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:35 pm
Tags: ,

for such a time

About:

Powerful Retelling of the Story of Esther

In 1944, blonde and blue-eyed Jewess Hadassah Benjamin feels abandoned by God when she is saved from a firing squad only to be handed over to a new enemy. Pressed into service by SS-Kommandant Colonel Aric von Schmidt at the transit camp of Theresienstadt in Czechoslovakia, she is able to hide behind the false identity of Stella Muller. However, in order to survive and maintain her cover as Aric’s secretary, she is forced to stand by as her own people are sent to Auschwitz.

Suspecting her employer is a man of hidden depths and sympathies, Stella cautiously appeals to him on behalf of those in the camp. Aric’s compassion gives her hope, and she finds herself battling a growing attraction for this man she knows she should despise as an enemy.

Stella pours herself into her efforts to keep even some of the camp’s prisoners safe, but she risks the revelation of her true identity with every attempt. When her bravery brings her to the point of the ultimate sacrifice, she has only her faith to lean upon. Perhaps God has placed her there for such a time as this, but how can she save her people when she is unable to save herself?

My thoughts and giveaway:

Wow. I don’t know what else to say.

This book is a masterpiece, truly beautiful.

If you love Esther’s story in the Bible, if you love historical fiction, if you love romance, if you are intrigued by WWII, by the suffering the Jewish people endured, then you will LOVE this book.

I did Beth Moore’s study of Esther a few year ago and I think that really gave me a deeper understanding of the characters in this book. That is a powerful study.

Stella’s (Hadassah) story is amazing. The strength she has to face her enemy, to live with the enemy and feel herself fall in love with enemy and then to wonder if he really is enemy at all? What is Aric’s story? There is something about him that doesn’t add up to he monsters who are killing the Jews.

I love Stella’s struggle with Christianity, and her friends who have shared Jesus with her in the past. Jesus is stirring in her even when she wants to deny Him.

Honestly, when I first got the book I was worried I would regret requesting it….well, there are no regrets here. And you won’t have any either if you pick this one up. So why don’t you 🙂 I give this one a big 5 stars.

Win your own copy by leaving a comment by April 28th at 5:00 pm to be entered in the drawing. (U.S. residents only)

Visit Kate’s website here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping or Books-A-Million.

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

26 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: For Such A Time”

  1. Virgina Says:

    I love your review!! 🙂 Queen Esther is my fav. heroines in the Bible! This book looks very interesting! I would love to win this book! Thanks for the giveaway! 🙂

  2. Pam K. Says:

    I’ve heard good things about this book. Thanks for your review and the chance to win a copy of For Such A Time. It sounds like a great one to recommend to the others in my book club.

  3. You sold me with your review. I had wondered if it was a story I would enjoy.

  4. After reading your fantastic review, I am eager to read this book! Thank you so much for sharing and for the opportunity to win!!

    texaggs2000 at gmail dot com

  5. Thanks for this review. Esther has always been my favorite woman character of the Bible. I think she was so strong. I would love the chance to win this new book by Kate. Thanks for the chance. Maxie

  6. Lis K. Says:

    Thanks for the review. I’ve been reading excellent reviews about this book and the WWII time period always interests me. It’s so brilliant to re-tell Esther’s story during the Holocaust. Thanks for the giveaway!

  7. Karen Spiegel Says:

    I remember the last few years of WWII, so anything pertaining to that time is very interesting. Esther’s story in the Bible is a blessing too. Would love to win this book. Thank you.

  8. martyomenko Says:

    This sounds like an amazing read. I have heard such good things about it! I would love a chance to win a copy for myself! martha(at)lclink(dot)com

  9. Beth C Says:

    I’ve read a lot about the mistreatment of the Jews and World War II. Love to read this book.
    pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

  10. gatorade635 Says:

    Great review! This book is gorgeous!
    gatorade635(at)gmail(dot)com

  11. KayM Says:

    Melissa, thanks for your positive and encouraging comments. I was kind of debating on whether I wanted to read the book, but after reading your review, I am sure I do want to read For Such a Time. I used to read alot of WWII stories, but haven’t read any lately. I love the story of Esther. I’ve done the Beth Moore study, also. Blessings…
    may_dayzee(at)yahoo(dot)com

  12. Melanie Backus Says:

    With such a powerful story as this, I can’t wait to read it. Thank you for the wonderful review and giveaway.

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  13. beckie Says:

    I have been hearing about how wonderful this book is and can’t wait to read it.

  14. Random.org chose number 3! Thank you all who commented and I hope you will still get a chance to read this wonderful book 🙂


Leave a Reply

