Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Laura Jackson April 23, 2014

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 6:50 am
Tags: , ,

2013-07-08 22.35.34 (2) Today we get write to the point with Laura Jackson and her book Worth the Wait. She has a giveaway for you so read until the end!

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I’m originally from a small swamp town in Louisiana, but since I moved to Texas when I was nine, I consider myself a Texan. I taught middle school language arts and loved writing with my students. When I became a librarian four years ago, I missed writing and attempted my first novel.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

I was young. My mom didn’t write down the date, but I was about five. One of my earliest memories is being on my knees at church, praying for my dad to get saved so he could go to heave with me, my mom, and my sister.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

In Worth the Wait, Ellie has to learn that God’s plan is always worth the wait—even if it’s not what she planned. Even when life was a mess,Worth the Wait God was at work. I hope readers walk away looking at their own circumstances, even the hard ones, realizing that God is working in their lives and what He has in store is worth the wait.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

My blog (http://authorlaurajackson.blogspot.com/) started as a book review blog for one of my graduate classes, and I kept doing reviews. I post randomly about life and books. My most regular day is Fridays where I link up with other blogs for Confessional Fridays, where I share a little bit about myself. It’s usually random things but sometimes I open up a little more.

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

I’m a school librarian, so I’m surrounded with fantastic books all day, and then I go home and read a lot. So, this question is almost impossible. Sold by Patricia McCormick is amazing—opened my eyes to human trafficking.

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

When my dad was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer, his doctor told him it would either divide our family or bring us closer than ever. We’ve always been close, hanging out at least once or twice a week. But, it did change our relationship in that it became more intentional, more precious, and even stronger. Through his cancer, we all grew closer to each other and to Jesus, which was the only way we could walk that journey together.

Watching my parents, I learned what it means to love in sickness and in health. Watching him lose his health reminded me that each day is a gift from God to use for His glory, not my own. Being by my dad’s side when he took his last breath and the peace that filled my parents’ bedroom at that exact moment sealed my belief that at the second of death, we are with Jesus forever. What a day that will be!

I don’t want to share too many details that involve other people, but God used my dad’s cancer to bring back people to Him. Several people shared what an example he was to them, and one even came back to the Lord after years away through my dad’s testimony.

I miss my dad every day, but I’m thankful that God used even something as horrible as cancer for His glory.

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

Philippians 4:11b is on my heart/mind the last year or so. In my words it says that in all things, be content. I have certain goals/desires/dreams that seem so far off. I want to be content with where He has me even if it’s not what I would pick for myself.

Where can we find you on the web?

Twitter: https://twitter.com/LauraJackson80

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/laurajacksonwrites
Email: laurajacksonwrites@gmail.com

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

Thanks for having me. Great questions!

Thank you, Laura, for spending some time with my readers, I know they appreciate it.

Readers, Laura is giving away a copy of her book, paperback for U.S. residents or ebook for readers outside the U.S. Leave a comment by April 29th at 5:00 pm to be entered.

 

20 Responses to “Write to the Point with Laura Jackson”

  1. Judy Says:

    I’m struggling with trusting in God’s plan for me because it so isn’t what I planned for myself. Thanks, Laura, for sharing that scripture.

    • Hi Judy, I am so glad you found Laura’s interview encouraging. Sometimes it is so hard to trust God. He has reminded me lately to look back over my life and see if He has ever let me down. As I look I remember never once has He ever failed me. It’s a good reminder for those times we wonder what He is doing 🙂

    • Laura Jackson Says:

      Judy, I know exactly how you feel. I always thought I’d marry young and have a bunch of kids. Here I am 34 and single.
      One day, we’ll understand His plan, but for now, I’m choosing to trust His Nature. But, it’s hard!
      Thanks for commenting!

  2. johuddleston Says:

    I think we’ve all struggled with trying to stay strong in our faith during low points. I think about Paul when he wrote that he had LEARNED to be content in the Lord.

  3. mikeylynn Says:

    I have heard so many great things about this book, I so want to read it~
    bookwormgal2011 at yahoo dot com

  4. Beth C Says:

    My mother was an invalid for years and watching my Dad care for her was amazing – in sickness and health was definitely something he lived by.
    pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

    • Thanks for sharing that Beth. I have heard from many people that they are amazed to see one of their parents really step up when the other parent is ill.

    • Laura Jackson Says:

      Isn’t it? I’m not married, but I learned what it means to love in sickness and in health.
      Thanks for commenting, Beth.

  5. gatorade635 Says:

    That was such a beautiful story about your dad! It’s so cool that you got to see firsthand, the good that came out of that situation!
    gatorade635(at)gmail(dot)com

  6. Naomi Says:

    This book sounds very interesting. I hope to read it someday! 🙂

  7. Melanie Backus Says:

    Count me in on this one. It sounds great!

    mauback55 at gmail dot com


Leave a Reply

