Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Mark of Distinction by Jessica Dotta April 29, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews,Tuesday Thoughts — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:22 pm
Tags: , ,

 

mark of

About:

London is said to be the glittering jewel of society, a world unto itself—but to Julia Elliston it is a city of shadows. Her life is swiftly dissolving into scandal. And in Victorian society, even a whisper of scandal—substantiated or not—can be the death of a young woman’s reputation.

Now under the watchful eye of Lord Roy Pierson, one of most influential men in England, Julia begrudgingly accepts his protection. But Chance Macy’s power is far-reaching as well, and he is eager to assert his claim over her.

Thrust into society as the Emerald Heiress, Julia is the toast of London, a celebrated curiosity. But in reality she’s trapped between the clutches of two powerful men. Aided only by a gentleman whose intentions she prays she can trust, Julia must finally take control of her own fate—but outwitting one’s foe rarely goes according to plan.

My thoughts and giveaway:

I am really loving this book. The mystery and gothic kind of feel appeals to me. I am finding I do like books that are a bit out of the box and this one is, in a good way.

I read the first book awhile ago. I think I like this one even more than the first because I understand Julia better now. She is pulled along by other people’s choices yet she has a mind of her own. I never see her as being weak, but is a woman who just doesn’t know her true identity because it’s being kept from her.

Isn’t that what the enemy does to us in life? He steals our identity, whispers lies about who we are, makes us question what we know to be true and then we wonder who we really are, who did God create us to be? Yes, this book is a good picture of that.

I will say I don’t know if I would have understood this book very well if I hadn’t read the first. I really think to fully appreciate this book you need to read the first. But don’t let that keep you from reading it. Grab a copy of the first and then pick this one up and then be on the look out for book number three 🙂

Leave a comment by May 5th at 5:00 pm to be entered to win your own copy. (U.S. residents only)

Read my review of the first book here.

Visit Jessica’s website here.

Grab your own copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Chrsitianbook.com, Deeper Shopping or Books-A-Million.

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

30 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Mark of Distinction by Jessica Dotta”

  1. craftybooksheeps Says:

    Sounds like a great series! I have the first one on my Kindle, but haven’t read it yet! Thank you for the giveaway! 🙂

    Also not sure if you need my email, but it’s sylvesternator AT yahoo DOT com

  2. I can’t even imagine the pressure of looking and acting or being perfect in order to rumors from flying!

  3. Virginia Says:

    Wonderful review! This sounds like a very interesting book! I’ve heard so many mixed reviews about the first book but I think I’ll have to read it for myself. I would love to win! Thanks for the opportunity! 🙂
    bluejayandredcardinal509(at) yahoo (dot) com.

  4. Beth C Says:

    This sounds like a book I would enjoy. I’m going to find the first to read and then hopefully win this one!!!
    pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

  5. I would absolutely love to read your book and add it to my collectoin of books. The cover is just beautiful!
    oh.hello.hiya@gmail.com

  6. I also read her first book but have not gotten to this one yet. I would love to try it out. Thanks for the giveaway!

  7. Debra Says:

    Thanks for your review and for giving away a copy. It sounds like a great story.

  8. Pam K. Says:

    This sounds like a book I’d really enjoy; I love the dress on the cover. I’m pretty sure I have the first book on my Kindle so it would be fun to win Mark of Distinction. Thanks for the review and chance to win.

  9. Hello Melissa. I wasn’t real sure about this book until reading your review, but I know Jessica Dottie and would like to read the book. So will try to win it. Thanks for the chance.
    Maxie mac262(at)me(dot)com

  10. worthy2read Says:

    Just finished reading her first book and liked it. Can’t wait to read this one! Carol G

  11. Kim H in GA Says:

    I just read BOP last week and eagerly await MOD.

  12. C Elizabeth Says:

    Would love to win – looks like a wonderful read!

  13. Judy welbaum Says:

    Ohhhhh would. Love to win this!

  14. Cherie Says:

    I HAVE TO WIN THIS BOOK. I read Born of Persuasion in 2 days and even recommended it to my best friend and to several teenage girls I teach because it is a well-developed plot. It would stand on my bookshelf in my classroom (after I read it, of course).. Pretty please!

  15. Amanda Says:

    This sounds like an interesting read and one I haven’t even heard of before!

  16. Ann M Says:

    Sounds like a good read. 🙂

  17. Phyllis Says:

    I would like to read this new to me author. Thank you.

  18. Lis K. Says:

    I loved her first book, it was quite different from the Christian books I’ve read before. Thanks for the giveaway!

  19. Aerykah Says:

    Looks like a good book. Thanks for the giveaway! 🙂

    crazybooklover7 [at] yahoo [dot] com

  20. Janella Says:

    Thanks for the review, I bought the first book so I’m looking forward to reading the next in the series.

    Thanks for the giveaway
    Janella

    arieljo12 (at) hotmail (dot) com

  21. lib1lady Says:

    We have Jessica’s books in the church library. I would love to win this one to add to our shelves.
    Thank You!

  22. F. Farrell Says:

    I haven’t read book one… but I’m hearing a lot of good about this series! It looks kinda intense, which I really like. Plus, the titles are cool. Mark of Distinction, Born of Persuasion… Yes, I like that.
    Thank you for the chance as the giveaway. 🙂
    Faith mickeydog AT myfairpoint DOT net


Leave a Reply

