Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Elizabeth Maddrey May 21, 2014

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:50 am
Tags:

ElizabethMaddreyHeadshot

Today we get write to the point with Elizabeth Maddrey. I interviewed her awhile ago, you can read the first interview here.   Read on to see what she is up to now. Read to the end, she has a giveaway for you.

Elizabeth Maddrey began writing stories as soon as she could form the letters properly and has never looked back. Though her practical nature and love of math and organization steered her into computer science for college and graduate school, she has always had one or more stories in progress to occupy her free time. When she isn’t writing, Elizabeth is a voracious consumer of books and has mastered the art of reading while undertaking just about any other activity. She loves to write about Christians who struggle through their lives, dealing with sin and receiving God’s grace.Elizabeth lives in the suburbs of Washington D.C. with her husband and their two incredibly active little boys. She invites you to interact with her at her website www.ElizabethMaddrey.com or on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ElizabethMaddrey

 

 

 

Social Media:

Website: http://www.ElizabethMaddrey.com

Facebook: http://www.Facebook.com/ElizabethMaddrey

Twitter: @elizabethmaddre

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/emaddrey/

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/+ElizabethMaddrey/posts

Tell us about your newest book.
Faith Departed is the first in a three-book women’s fiction series about twin sisters, June and July (pronounced Julie) as they try to start families. Unfortunately, things don’t go smoothly, so both sisters find themselves struggling with their husbands, each other, and their faith. The main question sort of driving the plot is the one I think we all ask when we hit trouble – where is God in all of this?
What do you do when you’re not writing?
My number one job is “Mom.” I have two boys (six and two) who take up the bulk of my days. We’ve also decided to homeschool (well, I’d decided that long before we had children, my husband got on board when it got to be time for our eldest to start Kindergarten.) And then I never seem lacking in projects or other commitments. I’m the Commander of the AWANA club at our church and we lead a small group for adults. When I have time, I like to crochet and do other crafty type things. Those don’t happen nearly as often as they used to.
Where do you get your ideas?
I find ideas everywhere. For this most recent series, the idea actually came from my own struggles with infertility. That wasn’t something I everFaithDeparted planned to put in a novel—but the idea started to whisper in my ear. Then it started mumbling. Then talking. Pretty soon it was yelling and I really didn’t have a choice about the matter but to write it down. But when it’s not coming out of my own life, it’ll often come out of a “what if” while I’m people watching. Someone will catch my eye and I’ll wonder why they’re where they are…and then I start making up a little story. “What if they’re at the grocery store at nine p.m. the Wednesday before Thanksgiving because…” and ideas just kind of germinate from there.
Do you outline or are you a seat-of-the-pants writer?
I’m seat-of-the-pants. I want to be a plotter. I really do…but for whatever reason, it kills my creativity.
Have you written a book you love that you have not been able to get published?
It’s not complete. I keep playing with it when I have a few minutes here or there—but I have a speculative novel (that I actually term sci fi, because that’s what they called it when I started writing it) that I simply adore. Maybe one of these days…
Are you like any of the characters in your book?
There are probably pieces of me in just about all of them. For example, my characters all tend to have a dry, semi-sarcastic sense of humor. That’s me. My female characters tend to be pretty outspoken. Also me. But I wouldn’t say any one character in any of my books is like me (nor am I like them) completely.
Are you working on a new project now?
I’m working on final edits for Hope Deferred, book two in my women’s fiction series where we see June & Toby and July & Gareth struggling with the hardship of infertility treatments. I’m also finalizing Love Defined, the third in the series.

Thanks so much, Elizabeth, it’s great catching up with you.

Readers, Elizabeth has a giveaway for you. Leave a comment for her by May 27th at 5:00 pm to be entered to win your choice of on ebook or paperback of Faith Departed.

 

 

4 Responses to “Write to the Point with Elizabeth Maddrey”

  1. jenlhall63 Says:

    I’d like to win! 🙂

  2. Glad you took on a hard subject
    Thank you for writing
    God bless you
    Chris

  3. B. Adams Says:

    Thank you for sharing this great interview! FAITH DEPARTED sounds like a very special story. I appreciate the chance to be a winner!

    texaggs2000 at gmail dot com

  4. Melanie Backus Says:

    What a great interview! With a special story like Faith Departed, it sounds like a winner to me. I would love to be one too. Thank you for the chance.

    mauback55 at gmail dot com


Leave a Reply

