Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Here to Stay May 27, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews,Tuesday Thoughts — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:46 pm
Tags: ,

here to stay

 

About:

After playing nomad for five years, Blake Hunziker has finally had enough of adventure. Not sure what reception he’ll get from everyone back in Whisper Shore, he’s stunned at not only a warm welcome from his hometown but also a job offer. The job is his if he can successfully pull off the annual Christmas Festival. If only he knew the first thing about coordinating events…

If there’s one thing Autumn Kingsley knows, it’s Whisper Shore. For years, she’s been stuck running her family’s inn when all she wants is to see the world. Now she has a visit scheduled from a potential investor who could take over the inn, as well as a dream job offer in Paris. But with just two weeks to whip the inn into shape, her chance at escape is a long shot.

The Hunzikers and the Kingsleys may not get along, but Blake knows Autumn’s the only one who can help him. She agrees to a trade–she’ll help with the Festival and he’ll help with inn repairs. But what was meant to be a simple deal quickly becomes much more than that when the guy who’s done running away joins forces with the girl who can’t wait to leave.

My thoughts and giveaway:

I love this story.

This is Melissa’s second book and I have to say I think I liked this one even better than the first, and the first was very good. Melissa’s snappy dialogue and clever writing is all over this book.

Something about these two characters, Autumn and Blake, were so endearing to me. I guess because they were both flawed but so likeable.

Of course I love that this book was set on the shores of Lake Michigan since I am a Michigan girl myself:) I could just smell and picture the lake so clearly.

Blake is a return character from Melissa’s first book but you won’t feel the least bit lost if you didn’t read her first one and pick this one up. She does a great and natural job of getting the reader up to speed.

I just kept wondering how could these two ever make it work, since Blake returned to he could stay and Autumn is just waiting to leave. Who would stay or who would go?

Melissa also had some great story questions and things that happened in the past to these two characters that will keep you reading so you can see what took place in their lives. A lot of brokenness and hurt.

A great contemporary romance that is sure you make you want to visit the Lake Michigan shores.

Visit Melissa’s website here.

Grab a copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping or Books-A-Million.

Win a copy by leaving a comment by June 2nd at 5:00 pm. (U.S. residents only)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

22 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Here to Stay”

  1. Annette Says:

    Sounds good. I do love snappy dialog.

  2. I’m really not into romance novels, but I do love books that make me feel like I’ve traveled to a new place!

  3. Melanie Backus Says:

    I would love to learn more about Autumn and Blake. I think the book sounds great and would love to read it. Thank you for the giveaway.

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  4. Hello Melissa. I would love to win this new book from Melissa. I love the review of this book. It sounds like an exciting story and I want to find out how Blake and Autumn will work things out. I think they should stay. 🙂 Please enter me in this give-away. Maxie

  5. Pam K. Says:

    This sounds like a contemporary romance I’d really enjoy. I have Melissa’s first book on my Kindle; hopefully I’ll get around to reading it soon. I’d love to win a copy of Here to Stay. It would be fun to have them both and read them one after the other. Thanks for the chance to win.

  6. Karen Spiegel Says:

    This sounds like another interesting book. Would love to win it.

  7. Rachelle Rea Says:

    I’ve been hearing a lot of good things about this book! Great review! Thanks for the giveaway, too. 🙂
    rachelle (at) rachellerea (dot) com

  8. Patty H Says:

    Love a book that can make me laugh! I’m a MI girl myself, so I am sure this would be a great reminder of summers at the lake.

  9. Michelle Says:

    I am dying to read this book! I really loved her first book. Great review!
    bookwormgal2011 at yahoo dot com

  10. Sounds great! Please drop my name in the hat!

  11. craftybooksheeps Says:

    This sounds like such a fun novel! I always love a good romance! Thank you for the giveaway! 🙂
    sylvesternator (AT) yahoo (dot) com

  12. Found a Christian by His Grace Says:

    Blaze was my favorite character from book one, so I’m really glad he got his own story! 🙂
    Thank you for a giveaway opportunity! If I win, my extra copy will go to my voracious reader Aunt. 🙂
    Faith mickeydogATmyfairpointDOTnet


Leave a Reply

