Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

All We Would Ever Need May 30, 2014

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:51 pm
Tags: , , , ,

cryOne morning I was eating breakfast and I heard my daughter yell “Mommy.”

As a mother you know when your child is hurt, I went running into the bathroom. I found her sitting on the floor with a huge scratch running down her calf. She somehow scratched herself with her toenail while she slept.

I quickly moved into action and got the Band-Aids down and some antibacterial ointment. After I finished bandaging her up she looked in the box and noticed there were no more Band-Aids, “Oh, mom we don’t have anymore Band-Aids.” 

I assured her I knew we needed more so I just purchased some the other day. Relief flooded her face. I am sure she knew she might need more in the near future…like most children 🙂

I thought about this conversation later and realized how we often say the same thing to God.

We get hurt, broken hearted, we fall into sin and when we finally fall to the ground and shout out, “My King!” He will come running. 

He knows His children’s voices better then we know our own, He knows when we are hurt.  He comes running and the King of Kings kneels down beside us and covers our hurts with more than bandages.

He covers them with His love, grace and mercy.  He unselfishly pours those things out over our hurts and our sins.

When He’s finished we might look up at him and say, “But Father, you used all you have, you couldn’t possible having anymore love for me the next time I am hurt or screw up.” 

He smiles down at you and says, “My child, I knew you would need more so I purchased all you would ever need, more then you could ever need.  The price was costly, but well worth it. The price was paid on the cross.  I have many more boxes of love, grace, and mercy for you. Just ask and I will come running.”

We never have to worry that He will run out of those things, He can’t, He won’t.  He knew we would need more so He purchased all we would ever need, that is our King!

Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecutions, and troubles that I suffer for Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10 NLT

Have you felt that way, that you had to have used up all of God’s grace, mercy and love? Can you share a time He reminded you that He was all you needed?

 

Leave a Reply

