Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Angie Brashear June 4, 2014

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:14 pm
Tags: ,

Angie Brashear - Headshot (2)Today we get write to the point with Angie Brashear. I am sure you will be touched by her interview. Read until the end, she has a giveaway for you.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

Let’s see…I’m originally from Rockland, Maine and currently reside in Cameron, Texas with my husband and three children. By day, I’m a Director of Special Education for nine small school districts. By night (once my kiddos fall asleep), I’m a writer. At least for the past two years. During all the hours in between, I attend a lot of time at sporting events because my husband is a football coach and all of my kids love sports.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

While this is the question I love to answer most, it is also the most difficult question for me to answer. There truly are no words to describe my moment of salvation, but I’ll do my best.

 

I grew up in a very abusive environment. When I was in the fifth grade, my teacher read The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis aloud to my class. In doing so, she opened my eyes to adventure and possibilities, all the while helping me escape a world of darkness for a short time. At its conclusion, I wondered, Is God real? He couldn’t be, right? For if He existed, innocent young girls wouldn’t suffer the wrath of drunken addicts, or the torment of abandonment.

 

I continued to speculate. Each time God placed believers in my path—a high school teacher, a college friend, and a college coach—my fascination with the possibility grew stronger even when they got too “preachy” for me. While in college, I also crossed paths with a nonbeliever who…well, worshipped the darker side of the spiritual world, though I didn’t immediately recognize her misplaced loyalties. As classmates, we often studied for tests together and each time we met, the evil surrounding her presence became clearer to me. On the final occasion in which we studied together, I felt a wave of darkness fill the room. And it frightened me. I appealed to my Christian friends for advice. They prayed for me. Within a couple of days, I prayed with a small town pastor. In the moment of my salvation, the Holy Spirit literally entered my heart. The Spirit’s warmth filled me, one vein at a time until my entire body tingled – all the way to the tips of my fingers and toes. Until my eyes overflowed with tears. I couldn’t stop crying, for in those same moments multiple images of a scared, abused girl flashed before me. While I’d suffered great abuse, He had protected me from worse. While I’d been abandoned by those I loved most, He had remained by my side.

I continued to cry, for no truth had ever been so evident to me. God indeed lives in the form of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. He rescues. He saves. And He waited for me. Then He embraced me. It all started with a little seed, planted in the empty heart of the girl I once was. A love for reading expanded to a love for writing. A desire to know God became a desire to serve Him, to reach nonbelievers.

Wow, that is truly beautiful. I felt shivers as I read it. Thanks for sharing that.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

Of the Persecuted is a fantasy with a strong thread of romance geared toward young adult females. The story surrounds an insecure girl who believes she is no more than a burden to the people she loves. But in the midst of physical and spiritual war, and through the loss of loved ones, Of the Persecuted (ebook cover)as well as the turmoil of unrequited love, she discovers her true worth lies in her faith.

 

Ultimately, my goal is to reach young adult females much like the lost, lonely girl I once was. As a nonbeliever for the majority of my life, I enjoyed reading speculative fiction and it was the The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis which ultimately opened my eyes to Christ. My prayer is that my stories will do the same for others. I also hope believers will enjoy the Christian undertones of my work.

 

I am sure many young women (and adult women for that matter) can relate to your book and will be touched by it.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

I’m not the greatest blogger. [big sigh] I typically blog on Wednesdays, with the goal of supporting fellow authors in their attempts to glorify God.

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

At the risk of sounding repetitive, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis. To this day, I read the entire Chronicles of Narnia series at least once every couple of years. But, most recently, I read Mortis by Hannah Cobb and loved it. Her debut effort is quite impressive.

 

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

Wow. Tough, personal question. Deep breath in, and deep breath out. Without intending to sound flippant, I believe the enemy sought to use the majority of my childhood experiences against me. I was the kid who knocked on the back door of the local bar looking for her mother in the middle of the night. I was the kid who made sure her little sisters had a meal to eat. I was the kid who locked my bedroom door at night to protect myself from drunks. Now I’m the teacher who can look at a student with similar experiences in the eyes and say, “I know this is tough. But with God, you can conquer any challenge.”

And now, as a new author, I’m looking forward to seeing how the Lord uses my stories to His glory.

I have no doubt He will do just that J

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

My cross country teammates and I lived by Philippians 4:13 in college. We usually began and ended each day with intense and exhausting distance training. Because we aimed to glorify God with our efforts and attitudes, we focused on allowing Him to work through us. I pray my endeavors as a writer do nothing less. In Him, we can do all things to His glory. The verse remains my favorite to date, without a doubt.

 

Where can we find you on the web?

(My Facebook page is the best way to stay tuned for updates regarding the release of my debut novel.)

 

http://angiebrashear.com

www.facebook.com/AngieBrashearAuthor

https://twitter.com/AngieBrashear

 

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

For a little encouragement, I’d like to share a bit about…Laminin. A strange word, right? Especially if you’re not into science, which I’m not. But, in my opinion, all Christians should take the time to Google an image of Laminin. It’s a protein molecule that holds the body together, a “glue” of sorts. And…it’s shaped like a cross. Eeek! The protein is reflective of God’s design. Colossians 1:17 says, “He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together.” So you see, Christ sustains us in so many ways. He never abandons us. How can we not be encouraged by such truth? I’m grateful to my friend and fellow author Ginny Hamlin for sharing the link to Louie Giglio’s exceptional description of God’s greatness.

I’ve seen the video where Louie shares about Laminin, I was amazed.

Back Cover Blurb:

Laila Pennedy awaits death by hanging. For the Rendow Clan rules the Woodlands Region, aiming to slaughter the Faithful. And she deserves to die. But Lars Landre, the man destined to lead the Faithful out of persecution, has other plans hidden behind his rare and mysterious blue eyes. Rescue.

Following the daring escape, Laila seeks the path of a warrior and vows revenge against the Rendow Clan. She embarks on a dangerous journey with Lars, one in which they endeavor to reach the promised safety of a magical village, to train for battle, and to ultimately assure freedom for those with faith in the Maker.

Clashes of weapons and souls. Brutal loss of lives. Unrequited love. How in all the Woodlands will Laila survive?

Angie, thanks so much for sharing with my readers. You’re personal testimony is so powerful. I pray God will bless your writing journey.

Readers, Angie is giving away one winner’s choice of an ebook or paperback copy of her book. Leave a comment by June 10th at 5:00 p.m.

 

11 Responses to “Write to the Point with Angie Brashear”

  1. KayM Says:

    What a wonderful interview and testimony! I also watched the video, which was excellent. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Roxanna s. Ford Says:

    You have a fascinating testimony….transformed from the kingdom of darkness to the kingdom of light. God is great! I became a Christ Follower at age 18 and He brought out of a life of loneliness, fear, and depression. Many blessings to you as you write these fantasy books to reach young girls with the gospel of Christ!

  3. lawz500 Says:

    Wow, what an amazing testimony. God has truly transformed you into a weapon against the enemy – praise God! Although my story isn’t the same as yours, there are similarities. I certainly understand what it’s like to grow up with an alcohlic parent and the need to take care of younger siblings as the eldest. I am so thankful for God’s unconditional love and his ability to turn the darkness of our lives into light that gives him the glory! I’m looking forward to reading your book. May God continue to bless you on your writing journey.

  4. lawz500 Says:

    Reblogged this on Prose & Cons and commented:
    I really enjoyed this post by Angie Brashear. I hope you will too!

  5. Kay, thank you! After I watched the video for the first time, I actually dreamt about Laminin. Seriously. God is amazing in all of His intricacies.

  6. Roxanna, I like your comment, “transformed from the kingdom of darkness to the kingdom of light.” Thank you for seeing His greatness through my story.

  7. Melissa, thank you for allowing me to visit today.

  8. Amy R. S. Says:

    What a great story. I think it’s wonderful that God used C.S. Lewis’ book to catch your attention. Your book sounds great. You are a new author to me. Thanks for letting us meet you and for the giveaway.

    • Thank you for your kind words, Amy. I’ve enjoyed making new connections with readers. If you ever get a chance to read Of the Persecuted, I’d love to hear your thoughts. Blessings.

  9. […] Write to the Point with Angie Brashear (5020genesis.wordpress.com) As a nonbeliever for the majority of my life, I enjoyed reading speculative fiction and it was the The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis which ultimately opened my eyes to Christ. My prayer is that my stories will do the same for others. I also hope believers will enjoy the Christian undertones of my work. […]


Leave a Reply

