Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Margaret Brownley June 11, 2014

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:43 pm
Tags: ,

MargaretToday we get write to the point with Margaret Brownley.

More Love and Laughter

From Margaret Brownley

“Virtue! Is that all you’re worried about? The woman’s on trial for murder!”

From Courting Trouble (Four Weddings and a Kiss collection)

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?\

I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember and have published more than thirty books.  When I’m not writing, I’m chasing outlaws, jumping out of trains, holding up stages and swooning in the arms of handsome strangers.  Wait!  That’s not me. That’s my characters.  Seriously, my husband and I live in Southern California and have three grown children.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

This will probably sound strange but I don’t really know. He’s always been part of my life but I’m still learning about Him.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

My June release is Four Weddings and a Kiss written with Robin Lee Hatcher, Debra Clopton and Mary Connealy.  We wanted the collection to be about women who, despite failing to meet certain social standards, find true love.   Many of us can relate to that theme.  My story Courting Trouble is about a widow named Grace Davenport, an outcast with a son. When we first meet her, she’s in jail, charged with 9781401688547_CVR.inddkilling her husband.  Since my story is last, I hope readers close the book with a smile and maybe even a new appreciation for the people who march to a different drumbeat.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

Last year I had six books published and this year four, so as you can imagine there isn’t a whole lot of time left for blogging or social media.  I’m a resident blogger at both Petticoats and Pistols and Christian Fiction Historical Society and that helps because I only have to blog twice a month. What do I blog about? Mostly interesting tidbits discovered in my research.

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

Wow, that’s a challenge since I have so many favorites.  As a child my favorite book was Little Women. I pretended to be Jo, the writer.

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

My husband and I lost a son and it almost did destroy me.  For the first time in my life I couldn’t write and thought to never write again.  However, God really does have an amazing way of working through pain and grief.  Have you ever noticed how he works through our strengths to heal us?   As might be expected, my healing eventually came through writing.  I actually started what I thought was a grief journal.  I was shocked one day to discover that I had completed my first nonfiction book. I truly felt like I had been guided by the hand of God.  The book is titled Grieving God’s Way: the Lasting Path to Hope and Healing. It’s my first and only non-fiction book and I’m gratified that it’s helped so many people going through similar losses.

That is so amazing, and so God. So glad you received a very tangible gift of God’s goodness and can use that to help others. 

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

“With God all things are possible” taken from Matthew 19:26.  I love this verse and have fallen back on it many times.

Where can we find you on the web?

You can visit my homestead at www.margaret-brownley.com

 

About Margaret:

NEW YORK TIMES BEST-SELLING AUTHOR MARGARET BROWNLEY has penned more than thirty historical and contemporary novels. Her books have won numerous awards, including Readers’ Choice and Award of Excellence. She’s a former Romance Writers of American RITA© finalist and has written for a TV soap.  She is currently working on a new series.  Not bad for someone who flunked eighth grade.  Just don’t ask her to diagram a sentence.

Thanks so much for sharing with my readers and I pray God will continue to bless your writing.

 

 

4 Responses to “Write to the Point with Margaret Brownley”

  1. Melissa, thank you so much for letting me be a guest on your wonderful blog. I look forward to meeting some of your readers.

  2. Pam K. Says:

    Thanks for this interview with Margaret. I love her books. I haven’t read all of them but have enjoyed the last two series. My daughter enjoys them as well.


Leave a Reply

