Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Full Steam Ahead June 26, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:53 pm
Tags: , ,

full steam

 

About:

When love simmers between a reclusive scientist and a wealthy debutante, will they abandon ship or is it full steam ahead?


Nicole Renard returns home to Galveston, Texas, to find her father deathly ill. Though she loves him, Nicole’s father has always focused on what she’s not. Not male. Not married. Not able to run Renard Shipping.

Vowing to find a suitable husband to give her father the heir he desires before it’s too late, Nicole sets out with the Renard family’s greatest treasure as her dowry: the highly coveted Lafitte Dagger. But her father’s rivals come after the dagger, forcing a change in Nicole’s plans.

After a boiler explosion aboard the Louisiana nearly took his life, Darius Thornton has been a man obsessed. He will do anything to stop even one more steamship disaster. Even if it means letting a female secretary into his secluded world.

Nicole is determined not to let her odd employer scare her off with his explosive experiments, yet when respect and mutual attraction grow between them, a new fear arises. How can she acquire an heir for her father when her heart belongs to another? And when her father’s rivals discover her hiding place, will she have to choose between that love and her family’s legacy?

My thoughts and giveaway:

This is the second book I have read by Karen. I loved Stealing the Preacher so I was anxious to read her newest release.

Well, Full Steam Ahead did not disappoint.

She has crafted another well written book with characters that are quirky, spunky and charming.

And as the title says, once you pick up this book it is full team ahead with the story. Chapter after chapter adds a new layer or twist to the plot.

Nicole is on a mission to find a husband so she can save her father’s business but there’s danger after her so she takes a little detour. But I think it’s more of a Genesis 5020, if you ask me. This detour leads her to Darius.

At first I wasn’t so sure about him. He seemed a bit too strange, but really he is on a mission of his own. He wants to save peoples lives due to what happens in the prologue of the book. As he gets to know Nicole he becomes more demensional, there’s a softer side to this guy and not only does he find himself wanting to save other people, he also wants to protect Nicole.

Karen is an excellent writer and if you like historical romance this is one you will enjoy.

Visit Karen here.

Grab a copy at your local book store, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping and Books-A-Million.

Leave a comment by July 2nd at 5:00 p.m. to be entered to win a copy. (U.S. residents only)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

25 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Full Steam Ahead”

  1. lorlyn63 Says:

    Love Karen’s books – they are delightful to read! I love the cover of her new book and it sounds like my kind of story – love historical Christian Romance! Thank you Melissa for featuring great Christian authors!! Thanks to Karen for writing great reads!

    Blessings,

    Lori

  2. Aerykah Says:

    I always look forward to another good book by Karen Witemeyer! She’s one of my favorite authors! 🙂
    Thanks for the giveaway! 🙂

    Aerykah

  3. Pam K. Says:

    I’ve read all of Karen’s books. I really like her characters and the blend of humor, action, romance, and faith. Full Steam Ahead sounds like it will be another favorite of mine. Thanks for the chance to win it.

  4. Melissa Says:

    I like the idea of an obssessed inventor. 🙂 If you’ve not read anything else but Stealing the Preacher, definitely pick up Short-Straw bride and To Win her Heart, my two faves!

    • I do own both of them and have great things about them, I just haven’t gotten around to reading them. Maybe I need to make the something that happens this summer 🙂 Thanks for stopping by the blog.

  5. Hello Melissa. I love the cover of this book. Your review makes it sound very interesting. I live not far from Galveston. I think it takes most people about 45 min. to drive there. It is a very popular place for people in this area to entertain themselves often. I know my son and wife, and some of the grandkids families go there often. Please put my name in the drawing and thanks for the give-away. GOD bless. Maxie > mac262(at)me(dot)com <

  6. Patty H Says:

    Karen’s books are great! I think I have read them all, but missed her revent novella. I would love to read her newest…

  7. I love Karen’s book and would love for a chance to win this!

    Thanks!
    Shannah
    Book Reviews by Shannah
    smmcclamrock(at)gmail(dot)com

  8. I love Karen’s books! Please drop my name in the hat and thanks for the giveaway!

  9. Cindy Says:

    I really would love to win a copy of Karen’s books. Her books are always an enjoyable read. Thank you for the chance to win a copy. 🙂

  10. lib1lady Says:

    We have Karen’s books in the church library but not this one. Thanks for giving me the opportunity to win this book.

  11. Lady DragonKeeper Says:

    I love Karen Witemeyer’s books! She always has an awesome blend of romance, humor, and unique storylines that make the book come alive. =)

  12. Thank you for sharing your wonderful review and giveaway. This sounds like a delightful story!

    texaggs2000 at gmail dot com

  13. Vera Godley Says:

    I missed the opportunity to review Full Steam Ahead and would absolutely love, love, love to win it.

  14. litleteacherlady Says:

    What a talented writer! I always enjoy reading Karen’s books! Thank you for the opportunity to win her latest book.

  15. Thanks so all who commented. Sorry I was a bit slower in commenting back, we are on vacation and I am on the computer a lot less. Random.org choose number 8. Thank you all for checking out the review.


Leave a Reply

