Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: A Table by the Window July 1, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews,Tuesday Thoughts — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:28 pm
Tags: ,

table

About:

Heirloom recipes, family secrets…and a chance for love
 
The youngest heir to a French-Italian restaurant dynasty, food writer Juliette D’Alisa has spent her life negotiating her skill with words and her restaurant aspirations. When her brother Nico offers her a chance to open a restaurant together, she feels torn—does she really have what it takes? Should she risk leaving her journalism career?

After the death of her grandmother, Juliette discovers an antique photograph of a man who looks strikingly like her brother. As the truth behind the picture reveals romance and dark secrets, Juliette struggles to keep the mystery away from her nosy family until she can uncover the whole story.

Inspired by her grandmother’s evolving story, Juliette resolves to explore the world of online dating. To her surprise, she finds a kindred spirit in Neil McLaren, a handsome immunologist based in Memphis, Tennessee. With a long-distance relationship simmering, Juliette faces life-shifting decisions. How can she possibly choose between a promising culinary life and Neil, a man a world away in more ways than one? And is it possible her Grandmother’s story can help show the way?

My thoughts and giveaway:

This book made me hungry 🙂

A Table by the Window is a book I passed by a couple of times, not sure if I really wanted to review  it or if I would enjoy it. But I kept hearing about it from authors who I really like reading, so I gave it a shot.

I have to say I am very glad I did.

This isn’t a fast paced book but it isn’t slow either. It’s an action  that is different but the story did keep moving along nicely, I was never bored.

Juliette is a great character, struggling to find herself and her path in life. She has suffered a loss recently with the passing of her grandmother and with that comes a picture she discovers that makes no sense to her. There are a lot of things happening within the family right now so she isn’t comfortable bringing it them.

Hillary did a great job giving each character in the book his or her own personality and Juliette has a large family. I loved reading the French words. I took three years of French in high school so I was pleasantly surprised when I actually understood some of what the was being said in French.

The slow romance between Juliette and Neil is also nice and keeps you wondering how they could make this relationship work.

Even more fun, especially for book clubs, are the recipes at the end of a lot of the chapters. If you love to cook you will appreciate that bonus.

Overall a good read that I am glad I took the time to finally review.

Visit Hillary here.

Visit Hillary on Pinterest here.

Read chapter one here.

Read Hillary’s bio here.

Leave a comment by July 7th at 5:00 p.m. to be entered to win a copy. (U.S. residents only)

Grab a copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, or Books-A-Million.

I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.

 

 

16 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: A Table by the Window”

  1. Pam K. Says:

    I’ve seen this book featured on a few blogs. It sounds like a book I’d like. Having recipes included is a fun feature as well. Thanks for the chance to win A Table by the Window.

  2. karen Says:

    Sounds like a fun summer read for vacation, i always love a romance

  3. Melanie Backus Says:

    Count me in on this one. I would love to read it.

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  4. A TABLE BY THE WINDOW sounds like a lovely story! Thank you for the chance to win.

    texaggs2000 at gmail dot com

  5. Patty H Says:

    Thanks for the review and giveaway! A cross cultural romance always has a few more issues to deal with… sounds like a good book.

  6. Hi Melissa. This intrigues me about the picture. I love reading these kinds of books looking for secrets. Please put my name in for a chance to win this book by Hillary. She is new to me.
    Thanks for the give-away. Maxie

  7. Melanie Backus Says:

    I love the sound of this book. Thank you for the chance to be a winner!

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  8. Found a Christian by His Grace Says:

    Oh yeah…. I was hungry. Especially for the lamb tagine. 🙂
    And Neil was so sweet! 🙂 Please enter me for the giveaway. Thank you!

    Faith mickeydog AT myfairpoint DOT net

  9. Martha J. Sturm Says:

    Romance and recipes? A winner!

  10. Brenda Murphree Says:

    This sounds like a great book! Thanks for the opportunity to win.


Leave a Reply

