Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Atlas Girl by Emily T. Wierenga July 8, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:06 am
Tags: , ,

atlas

About:

Emily Wierenga left home at age eighteen with no intention of ever returning.

Broken down by organized religion, a childhood battle with anorexia, and her parents’ rigidity, she set out to find God somewhere else–anywhere else. Her travels took her across three continents in buses, cars, and planes, across mountains and over deep blue seas.

What she hadn’t realized was that her faith was waiting for her the whole time–in the place she least expected it.

Poignant and passionate, Atlas Girl is a deeply personal story of the yearning we all share to be truly known, entirely forgiven, and utterly loved.

My thoughts:

I really enjoyed this memoir, it is so beautifully written. Emily bares her heart and soul within the pages of this book.

This book does jump back and forth a lot between years but each chapter is clearly labeled with the year so I easily make the switch in my brain so I didn’t become lost.

Will this book appeal to everyone? Probably not. But if you are someone who has tried to find your belonging by running away from home, or your family, or even God, then this is a book I believe you will connect with and will touch your heart.

I love reading how God draws His children to Himself. My heart broke as I read about Emily’s mom suffering with cancer and Emily’s tender care of her.

If this book sounds interesting to you I enjoy you to grab a copy and give it a read.

Visit Emily here.

Grab  a copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping or Books-A-Million.

A copy of this book was given to me by Baker Publishing in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

