Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Love Comes Home by Ann H. Gabhart July 14, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:34 pm
Tags: ,

love comes home

About:

When the flush of victory fades, there remains a winding road to an uncertain future.

World War II is finally over and the people of Rosey Corner are joyfully welcoming the boys home. The Merritt sisters in particular are looking toward the future. Kate is eager to start a family and live out her dream of happily ever after with Jay. Evangeline craves a beautiful house and encourages Mike to pastor a big-town church. Victoria wants what can never be. And Lorena is growing up and wondering more and more about her birth family.

Each sister must learn to hold her plans with a loose hand, trusting that God will guide and strengthen them as they share the joys and sorrows of life in their little corner of the world.

Award-winning and bestselling author Ann Gabhart invites you back to Rosey Corner for a heartfelt story that closes the distance between the things that were and things that can yet be.

My thoughts and giveaway:

Ann’s writing is lovely, isn’t it? If have read any of her books you’ll know what I am talking about.

She has this way of creating a storyworld that makes you feel like you are home and her characters are your next door neighbor.

Love Come Home is the final book in a series. I did not read the first two (although I have Angel Sister sitting in my Kindle 🙂 but I didn’t feel lost at all, just maybe a bit sad that I could know these characters better than I did. I am sure if you have read the first two you will be anxious to get your hands on this one and see what happens after the boys come home.

I loved the first scene in the book as it is announced that the boys were coming home, the excitement that sweeps through everybody….well, almost everybody. Not everyone can celebrate because not every boy is coming home.

Ann even had me in tears as I read about Kate and Jay’s reunion. I could see it and feel it playing out before me.

Each sister in the book is dealing with something different or handling it different that the other. I love the family atmosphere and the depiction of the times after the war.

This is an easy, relaxed read, not a fast-pace page turner but a enjoyable book none-the-less. If you like Ann’s books or want to give this one a try I think you will be happy you did with this one.

Visit Ann here.

Grab a copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping or Books-A-Million.

Leave a comment by July 20th at 5:00 p.m. to be entered to win a copy. (U.S. residents only)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

5 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Love Comes Home by Ann H. Gabhart”

  1. Pam K. Says:

    This is such a great series. I actually read book two, Small Town Girl, first. I liked it very much. I remembered I had book one, Angel Sister, on my Kindle so I read that so I could get the back story. It would have been better if I’d read them in order, but it still worked. I’m looking forward to reading Love Comes Home. It would be terrific to win it here! Thanks for the chance.

  2. Hi Melissa. love Ann. I have some of her books on my Kindle and her Shaker books in Print. I would be so happy to win this book. Sure this will be the lucky time for me to win. Thanks.
    Maxie > mac262(at)me(dot)com <

  3. LOL Meant Hope this instead of Sure this. Maxie


Leave a Reply

