Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Rope of Sand by C.F. Dunn July 17, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:25 pm
Tags: ,

Rope_of_Sand_COV1-196x300

About:

Rope of Sand follows the developing relationship between British historian, Emma D’Eresby and American surgeon, Matthew Lynes. Emma unravels his alarming past, and begins to comprehend how very different her future might be with a man whose identity must never be revealed. Emma nervously meets Matthew’s family. She encounters his seventy-year-old son, Henry, and learns how unique the family really is. As Christmas approaches, it is clear that Emma is not welcomed by all: what does Matthew’s great-granddaughter, have against her, and what might his sinister psychiatrist granddaughter, Maggie, be prepared to do? Bound by their faith, Matthew and Emma have accepted that they must wait until his wife dies. Very reluctantly, Emma meets Ellen – an elderly woman with a core of steel – and learns how living with Matthew will be mean obfuscation, concealment, and lies. How can the lovers have a life together?

My thoughts:

I really like this series. However, I do want to say this won’t be a series that everyone will like. It is sci-fi”ish”, or fantasy so if you don’t like that you probably won’t enjoy this books.

Rope of Sand is the third book in the series. I didn’t read the first but I did read the second and although in the beginning the author does give a little synopsis of what happened before I highly recommend reading the other books. I had trouble keeping track of Matthew’s family even having the background knowledge I had from the second book. So I don’t think this is a series you can really just jump into.

This book is so haunting and mysterious. C.F. has created a cast of characters that are very intriguing and sympathetic. Emma loves Matthew so much and my heart ached for her to think about their future and the fact that he doesn’t age and one day she will suffer the same fate as his previous wife. But there was a part of me that kept holding out hope that something might change that.

There are a few words in the book that are not part of my vocabulary, but this book did have some good faith conversations, although I would stay say this is loosely Christian fiction. For the most part I would say this is clean fiction with some faith elements.

If you like fiction that is different, a bit darker in theme and mysterious than you might want to give this series a try. I can’t wait to see what happens next 🙂

Visit C.F. here.

Grab your copy at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com or Books-A-Million.

A copy of this book was given to my by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

