Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Love Letters from the Edge by Shelly Beach and Wanda Sanchez July 22, 2014

Filed under: Author Interviews,Tuesday Thoughts — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:16 pm
Tags: , ,

love letters from the edgeDescription:

Meditations offering practical hope through biblical expressions of lament and God’s relentless, unconditional love for the hurting

Millions of women in the United States battle with after-effects of suffering so great they’ve developed post-traumatic stress disorder—the same suffering experienced by soldiers who’ve gone through war. Sexual and physical abuse, catastrophic accidents, abandonment, natural disasters, invasive medical procedures, and many other painful and overwhelming events can trigger symptoms they are little equipped to deal with and hard-pressed to recognize.

Love Letters from the Edge provides a voice for those struggling to express this pain and reveals intimate encouragement for those in desperate need to hear God’s words of love and deliverance. This heartfelt devotional focuses on the profound laments in the book of Psalms. Each meditation begins with a letter from someone in the throes of despair and then offers a tender response to their pain from God’s perspective.

Fresh, honest, and intimate, Love Letters from the Edge will reach readers who never expected to hear good news from where they are and point them toward the hope and healing of Christ.

My thoughts:

There will be a letter in this book for everyone. You will find at least one letter you can relate to, but I am sure you will find more.

It’s obvious that Shelly and Wanda have a heart for women to find healing, this is my heart’s cry as well, so I very much appreciate love letters from the edgethe work they are doing.

This book actually reminded me how I used to connect with Jesus and since then I have gotten back to a very intimate place with my Savior.

My only suggestion might be to make the letters more general. Some of them were very issue specific, even using names of people that must have been in Shelly or Wanda’s life. I found myself skipping over the letters that had nothing to do with me. I think the wounds that were brought up need to be prayed over, however, I would’ve like to see it more general and without anyone’s name who I didn’t know, I found that distracting.

With that being said, this is a very powerful book and maybe this is a book you purchase and then share with others, maybe even mark the letters for the person you share it with and ask them to pass it on. As I read I kept thinking who I could pass my book on to.

love letters from the edgeVisit Wanda here.

Visit Shelly here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble or Christbook.com.

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

Leave a Reply

