Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Jessica Snell July 23, 2014

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:55 pm
Tags: , ,

Jessica SnellToday we get write to the point with Jessica Snell.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I’m a missionary kid, so “where are you from?” is one of the hardest questions out there! In order: Texas, Mexico, the Northwest Territories, and Southern California (with a bit of Oregon thrown in).  My husband’s another missionary kid, and he grew up on Indonesia.  We live in a suburb of Los Angeles now, and we have four kids (including a set of twins!).

I’ve been writing as long as I can remember, but I started seriously pursuing publication about seven years ago.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

I was raised in a Christian home (my parents were missionaries, actually), and I remember praying to the Lord Jesus when I was two or three. Later, as a teenager, I decided to really claim the faith as my own, and I read through the whole Bible, and read a lot of apologetic works, like “Mere Christianity” by Lewis and “Love the Lord with All Your Mind” by Moreland. I never stopped being a Christian, but that stage of maturation in high school was very important to my faith.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

My latest book is “Let Us Keep the Feast: Living the Church Year at Home.” Each chapter covers a different season of the church year, and is full of history, recipes, prayers, and other resources. It’s really the book I wish I’d had ten years ago, when I started trying to celebrate the church year at home.

I’d love people to come away from reading it feeling more empowered to make their faith a part of their day-to-day life, and feeling like they know how to Cover_HolyWeek_Easter_NB_LowWebcelebrate the feasts and fasts of the church year in their own homes.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

I blog about three times a week, and I cover the topics of “faith, fiction, and family”. So, on my blog you’ll get everything from recently-tried recipes I’ve loved, to book reviews, to what I’m learning on my mothering journey.

What are you reading right now?

I just finished a glut of fantasy books (“Mistborn”, “Chalice”, & “For Darkness Shows the Stars”), so I’m reading C.S. Lewis’ “The Problem of Pain” as a palate-cleanser.

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

Oh, wow, it’s hard to choose just one! I think God regularly uses the evil of this fallen world to turn us more and more towards His own goodness. In a way, that really comforts me, because I have faith that whatever trial I’m in, He won’t allow it to be wasted. It’ll never be meaningless. (I think meaninglessness might scare me more than anything.)

One painful time that immediately comes to mind was the time I broke both my arms at the same time (well, technically, one right after the other), during a karate test. It was horrible! I had an eight-month-old baby at the time, and I couldn’t even lift her up to nurse her!

But in the middle of that hard time, the Lord really showed me the goodness of His church. Friends and family gathered around and helped us, and I felt, for the first time, that I understood how God’s people serve as His “hands and feet”.

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

Not a verse, but I very regularly return to the Psalms of Ascent (they start with Psalm 120). Those short songs resonate with me every time I read or hear them.

Where can we find you on the web?

I blog at “Homemaking Through the Church Year”, and at this page of my website, you can find out where else I’ve had the privilege of writing.

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

I’d just like to add my thanks for having me over! I’m delighted to have had the chance to talk to you and your readers.

Thanks for sharing with my readers today, Jessica. We love hearing from new authors.

 

Leave a Reply

