Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: In Perfect Time by Sarah Sundin August 11, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:31 pm
Tags: , ,

in perfect time

About:

Two hearts are about to learn the rhythm of love

Bold, sophisticated, and coy, Army Air Force flight nurse Lt. Kay Jobson collects hearts wherever she flies, leaving men pining in airfields all across Europe. So how can ruggedly handsome C-47 pilot Lt. Roger Cooper be all but immune to her considerable charms? In fact, he seems to do everything he can to avoid her.

Still, as they cross the skies between Italy and southern France, evacuating the wounded and delivering paratroopers and supplies, every beat of their hearts draws them closer. Can they overcome the fears and misunderstandings of the past in order to take hold of the future?

Sarah Sundin seamlessly weaves together emotion, action, and sweet romance into a tale that transcends time and calls us to believe in the power of love.

My thoughts and giveaway:

I have been wanting to read this series and I am glad I finally got around to with this book.

Once again we have a WWII book but this time we are seeing it from the perspective of pilots and nurses. Sarah did a great job of bringing this book to life. I could easily picture what was taking place. But she didn’t over describe, she did just enough to give you a picture what the area looked like and then moved on to push the plot forward.

The book alternates between character development and moving the plot. I thought Sarah did a wonderful job with this as well, peppering each throughout the book.

What I also liked was how Sarah took a potentially difficult character, like Kay, one we might not normally like and made her likeable. Even though she uses men we see her brokenness. This softened me towards her and had me rooting for her redemption.

Roger is a torn hero with a sad past himself. He has had his own struggles with women and is afraid of crossing the line now that has found Jesus. He also struggles with his self-worth, just like Kay. Roger is a drummer, which made me like him even more since my husband is a drummer, plus I like anything musical in a character.

What I probably loved most about this book was that is was saturated in God’s grace. The message in here is one we all need and often struggle to grasp. Sarah did a fabulous job of weaving the gospel in this book without overpowering the reader.

I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys romance and some WWII history. And even though this is the third book in the series it really is a stand alone novel, so don’t worry if you haven’t read the first two (I haven’t).

Leave a comment by August 17th at 5:00 p.m. for your chance to win a copy. (U.S. residents only)

Visit Sarah here.

Grab a copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping or Books-A-Million.

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

38 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: In Perfect Time by Sarah Sundin”

  1. Judy Says:

    I went to Amazon and read the free sample. I’ve added it to my wish list. 🙂

  2. I loved the first book of this series! Thanks for the chance to win!

  3. beckie Says:

    I love to read Sundin’s books!

  4. Lis K Says:

    I’ve read all of Sarah Sundin’s books (except this one) and love them! I’ve been wondering about Kay since her appearance in Book 1 and can’t wait to read her story! Thanks for the giveaway!

  5. Pam K. Says:

    I’ve read the other two books in this series, plus two of the books in Sarah’s previous series. I’ve really enjoyed them and am looking forward to reading In Perfect Time to complete the story. Thanks for the chance to win the book.

  6. I enjoyed Sarah Sundin’s “With Every Letter.” It’s neat to see Christian historicals set in WWII –I just visited the Arizona memorial this week, so WWII’s been on my mind. Thanks for the chance to win!

    • You’re welcome. I am really fascinated with WWII history. I wish I would have found this passion when my grandpa was still alive and I could have asked him questions about his experience.

  7. Heidi Says:

    Thanks for sharing your review! I’ve had two author friends recommend her books to me so I’m going to start from the beginning of the series. Thanks for the giveaway!

  8. hi Melissa. Thanks for this good review. I’ve been trying to win this book. Maybe this will be my lucky blog. You did a good job with the review. Please put my name in the drawing.
    Thanks, Maxie

  9. Elyssa Says:

    Great review! I love Sarah’s books, and can’t wait to read Kay and Roger’s story! Thanks for the chance to win. =)

    lubell1106(at)gmail(dot)com

  10. Patty Says:

    Good to know that it can be read as a stand alone book! I do think I have the first book of the series on my TBR shelf, but haven’t read it yet. So many books, so little time.

  11. sarahsundin Says:

    Melissa – thank you so much for the lovely review! I’m so glad you enjoyed Kay & Roger’s story!

  12. Diane Says:

    I have read Sarah’s books before and love the detail she puts into each one. Thank you for sharing this giveaway.

  13. Raechel Says:

    Thanks for this give-away! I am a new reader of Sarah Sundin’s (just finished “A Distant Melody” and adored it!) and am looking forward to reading more of hers!

  14. I love stories set in the WWII era and am eager to read In Perfect Time! Thank you for your great review and giveaway!

  15. Elisabeth B. Says:

    I have read all of Sarah Sundin’s books except In Perfect Time. I’m really looking forward to reading this book as I have enjoyed Sarah Sundin’s writing style. Thank you for the review and the giveaway!

  16. Thanks for the review and giveaway! I completely agree with what you said about Kay. While I didn’t dislike her in the first two novels, I felt like an outsider because as a reader I only got to know her superficially. In this book, we see her brokenness and vulnerability. That really made me root for her. She and Roger are wonderfully written characters so I enjoyed reading their story.

  17. lib1lady Says:

    We have Sarah’s books in the church library. I would love to win this one to add to our shelves.
    Thanks!

  18. Suzanne Says:

    Thanks for hosting this giveaway! You’re going to love the first two books of the trilogy!

  19. Thanks to all who commented. What a great response. Random.org choose number 17. I hope the rest of you will grab your own copy and enjoy this great story.


Leave a Reply

