Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Carrie Stuart Parks August 13, 2014

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:49 pm
Tags: , ,

carrie stuart parksToday we get write to the point with Carrie Stuart Parks. Take a minute and get to know this inspiring author and she has a giveaway for you:)

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I was raised and still live on the 685 acre ranch here in the mountains of North Idaho. My family has lived in this state since my great-great grandmother came here in a covered wagon at the turn of the last century.

As an award-winning fine artist, with numerous paintings hanging in private and corporate collections, I soon turned to writing and illustrating books. To date, I have written five books on how to draw and watercolor, and contributed to numerous more. I started writing non-fiction in the mid-1990s.

My dad was the director of the North Idaho Regional Crime Lab in Coeur d’Alene, so my artistic talents were soon tapped to provide forensic art for the various law enforcement agencies. I started teaching forensic art along with my artist-husband, Rick. We are currently the largest instructors of forensic art in the world. It was only natural that when I began writing my novel, it would have a protagonist that was a forensic artist.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

My grandparents were very involved in the small Congregational church, but my parents weren’t much for such things. I became a Unitarian Universalists in college, but God had other plans. When He decided I’d goofed around enough, He sent a very nice couple into my life. The fellow was none other than NY Times bestselling author, Frank Peretti. Frank became my writing mentor, and Rick and I were baptized in the Coeur d’Alene River in front of their home more than 20 years ago.

I’m a breast cancer survivor and raise Great Pyrenees dogs. :-0

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

“A Cry From the Dust” is the story of forensic artist, Gwen Marcey. Her life is a mess: cancer survivor, divorced, and a single mother of an unruly ACryFrom_comp22 (2)teen. When she accepts a job at an 1857 massacre site reconstructing the faces of the murdered pioneers, she’s just looking for work and a way to get her life back on track. But things turn ugly when folks start turning up dead. She had to weave through a labyrinth of Mormon history, discovering secret societies and festering grudges in a race against time.

The theme is that everything happens for a reason and very much fits in with your Genesis 5020!

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

I seldom blog on my site. Sigh. When I do, I try and cover something found in my books: writing, dogs, forensic art, historical information, cancer.

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

I suppose that would have to be my own divorce. I’d been married for almost fifteen years to a college professor (and remember, I was a UU at the time.) When he left me for *many* other women, my life crumbled. Then I met and married Rick, found Jesus, and started writing. My ex-husband? He remarried and remained a UU. He’s now in prison for second degree murder. He killed his wife.

Wow, that is an amazing Genesis 5020, thank you for sharing that.

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

Phil. 4:8.

Where can we find you on the web?

http://www.carriestuartparks.com

Facebook: CarrieStuartParks, Author

Carrie, thanks so much for spending time with my readers today. We loving hearing from authors and learning more about them.

Readers, Carrie is giving away a copy of her book to one commentator. Leave a comment for her by August 19th at 5:00 p.m. to be entered in the drawing.

 

 

31 Responses to “Write to the Point with Carrie Stuart Parks”

  1. Marianne Says:

    It sounds like it packs a punch. I love novels like that, but not sure if I would have picked it up just looking at the cover. And I don’t think I have heard of Carrie before. I would love to win this book. Thanks for the opportunity. It’s a great post.

  2. Marianne, thank you for commenting. You haven’t heard from me because this is my debut novel (yeah!) I’m hoping you’ll like it (and win that book) so you can stay tuned for more Gwen Marcey stories. The cover, by the way, is the death mask of Joseph Smith, the founder of the Mormon church, and featured in the story. If you like suspense, you’ll love this book! Blessings, Carrie

  3. Melanie Backus Says:

    I think the title of this books speaks volumes and I would absolutely love to read it. I am in awe of people that can paint and draw as well as write. I think the job of working in forensics would be fascinating. Carrie, it is great to know a bit about you and I am certainly keeping my fingers crossed concerning your book. What an interesting life you have had!

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  4. KayM Says:

    Oh my goodness, it’s wonderful to see how God had a different plan for you. I’m so glad you didn’t stick with your first husband. Your book sounds great. I love suspense. Thank you for offering a copy of A Cry from the Dust.
    may_dayzee(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

  5. Hi Melissa. Thanks for introducing me to a new author. And, sounds like she is starting with a bang! Carrie maybe that was one of the best decisions that you ever made, leaving that first husband. It could have been you that he murdered. But, GOD had other plans for you. I am very interested in your book. Hope I can win it. Thanks for the give-away. Please put my name in Melissa. Maxie > mac262(at)me(dot)com <

  6. lib1lady Says:

    Carrie, All I can say is, Oh, My Goodness! The Lord’s hand was with you the whole time even when you weren’t saved. What a testimony for His sake.
    Thank you for giving me the opportunity to win your book.

  7. Michelle Says:

    thank goodness for second starts…congratulations on the book 🙂

  8. Kathy Says:

    Carrie, I feel that I know you. I have all your art books and can’t wait to read this one. From the start I felt that your were a fellow Christian and am so glad to hear part of your testimony of God’s grace in your life.

  9. sherri Says:

    Would love to read your book. Love mysteries and great pyrenees.

  10. Lisa Taylor Says:

    I am so looking forward to reading your book.

  11. Kim Chatoney Says:

    Carrie, I would not be doing what I do if it wasn’t for you. You have taught me so much and I’m so Blessed to have you in my life. Thanks for all you do, can’t wait to read your Book. Love ya….

  12. Michael Owen Says:

    I’m so happy for you. In knowing you, I’m sure the book is amazing and filled with all kinds of interesting twists. Be sure to bring some copies of your new book with you when you come back to the DFW area to teach again.

    Michael

  13. Carrie,

    I too am an artist (still learning) and have purchased your dvd: Drawing Secrets (I want to start painting portraits). I also have had some episodes of psychic experiences, and what I’d really like to eventually accomplish is to work with cops in missing people cases. It is a far off goal, but I will take it step-by-step. Your book sounds very interesting! Thanks for sharing your talents! Teina Tallarigo

  14. Susan Herriott Smith Says:

    Dear Carrie, I waited a long time for your book to be published. I recieved it in the mail th day it was released and dove into it. Very good reading now that i’ve finished reading it, I cant wait for your next book. Love and Blessings Susan Herriott Smith

  15. Cheryl Grimshaw Says:

    Carrie, I had no idea – You are sooo talented!! Can’t wait to see you at the National! I will be looking for your book!

  16. Barry Denyer Says:

    Hi Carrie. Can’t wait to get my hands on this novel. I just wonder if it will be available on this side of the pond (U.K.). Our mutual interest in Great Pyrenees (Pyrenean Mountain Dogs) was the catalyst for our meeting, many years ago, when you came to the U.K. and stayed with us for a few days. I still have the beautiful water colours that you produced following your European trip. Best wishes, Barry Denyer

  17. Thank you all for the great comments and thank you Carrie for sharing your journey with us. It is so clear that what the enemy could have used to harm you that God is using for His glory 🙂

    Random.org choose number 7 as our winner, I have emailed Michelle to let her know!


Leave a Reply

