Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: A Bouquet of Love by Janice Thompson August 18, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:26 pm
Tags: , ,

a bouguet of love

About:

She didn’t expect to fall in love–but roses aren’t the only thing blooming on Galveston Island

Cassia Pappas has found herself in a nearly impossible situation. She wants to spend her time immersed in her new job at a Galveston Island floral shop, arranging blooms and brightening occasions with her lovely creations. But her boisterous Greek family–especially her father–has other ideas. They’ve all relocated to Galveston to open up a new family restaurant located on the Strand–directly across the street from iconic pizza place Parma John’s–and they want Cassia’s full participation.

To make matters worse, as Cassia is trying to develop a strong professional relationship with Galveston’s premier wedding coordinator, Bella Neeley, her own father is intent on stealing all of the Rossi family’s faithful customers. Not exactly the best way to get into this former Rossi’s good graces!

Still, at least Alex, that hot delivery guy from the nursery, is always hanging around the flower shop . . .

My thoughts and giveaway:

My Big Fat Greek Wedding meets Christian romance πŸ™‚

If you enjoyed the movie you will LOVE this book. Even if you didn’t see the movie if you like stories about strong families, romance, and that will make you laugh out loud then you need to pick up this book.

This is the second book by Janice I have read and the second on in this series I have read, but it is the fourth volume in Weddings by Design. Although it is a series and there are repeat characters the main characters are new and you can read it as a stand alone. So have no fear if you haven’t read anything else in this series.

Cassia is a fun character, trying to make her family happy but also wanting to follow her dreams. She struggles with letting people know who she really is because her dad is making things difficult in the neighborhood, especially with the Rossi family, who happens to own the flower shop Cassia gets a job working for. When Cassia meets the Rossi’s she sees they really aren’t the enemy and very nice people but she can’t tell her dad that.

There were times I just wished she’d spit out the truth and tell people she belonged to the new Greek family, but honestly if she did that too soon it would’ve lost some of its tension.

Alex seems to be perfect for her, a nice, part Greek guy. It’s interesting being in first person because we don’t really see Alex’s weaknesses and he almost seems too perfect. But isn’t that the why it is when you first meet someone, they put their best foot forward and they seem perfect. So because we aren’t in Alex’s head we only see him how Cassia seesΒ  him, which is very nice πŸ™‚

Definitely a fun read with a great message, hope you get a chance to read this one.

Visit Janice here.

Grab a copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, or Books-A-Million.

Leave a comment by August 24th at 5:00 p.m. to be entered to win a copy. (U.S. residents only)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

30 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: A Bouquet of Love by Janice Thompson”

  1. Melanie Backus Says:

    This book sounds great and I can’t wait to read it! Thank you for the giveaway.

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  2. hello hiya Says:

    I would love to read this book. I have seen my Big Fat Greek wedding and I loved it. So I think I will like this book

    oh.hello.hiya@gmail.com

  3. Rebecca Maney Says:

    I would love to win a copy of this book. Have wanted to try this author’s books for awhile now.

  4. Suzanne Says:

    This sounds like a cute story! Thanks for hosting the giveaway!

  5. Sylvia M. Says:

    Oh, I love reading Janice Thompson’s books! This series has been good and I’m looking forward to reading this one. The heroine is a cousin to the heroine in Janice’s book “Hello, Hollywood!”, the second book in the Backstage Pass series.

    nina4sm/at/gmail/dot/com

  6. karen Says:

    would to win this book, sounds like a fun read to me

  7. I did like my Big Fat Greek Wedding. This looks like a fun read. I would share it with my aunt and daughter. Awesome giveaway!

  8. Patty Says:

    I loved My Big Fat Greek Wedding, and the first book in this series! Sounds like a fun read.

  9. Beth C Says:

    I love the cover! I also loved My Big Fat Greek Wedding so this book sounds very good!
    pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

  10. Barbara Thompson Says:

    Enjoyed your great review. I’ve been wanting to read one of Janice Thompson’s books, but I’m not able to buy and been unsuccessful in winning. Maybe I’ll get lucky this time. I’ve heard wonderful reviews about her books. Thank you for the opportunity to participate in this giveaway.
    Barbara Thompson
    barbmaci61 (at) yahoo (dot) com

  11. Marisa Says:

    Loved your review! I would love to do the same. Thanks for the chance to win and review! Deshaies89 (at) gmail (dot) com

  12. Merry Says:

    I love big, crazy families, so fun! Any day I can laugh and enjoy a good book is a great day. πŸ™‚

  13. Sounds like a great read! Please drop my name in the hat! writer_weaverATyahooDOTcom

  14. Maryann Says:

    This sounds like a great beach read for the end of the summer. Janice is a new author to me.

  15. Sylvia M. Says:

    Has a name been drawn for this yet? There hasn’t been an announcement, so I wasn’t certain.

  16. Yep, Suzanne has been contacted, she is the winner this week. Thanks all who commented, hope you get a chance to read this fun book πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

