Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

How Mackinac Island is like our Spiritual Lives (Part 4) September 12, 2014

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:49 am
Tags: , , ,
The kids in front of Skull Cave.

The kids in front of Skull Cave.

Sorry for the delay in installments. I came down with a nasty cold last week that had me napping instead of working on my post 🙂

We have traveled from Mackinaw City to the island. We visited downtown and then rode around the island on our bikes. Now it’s time to go deeper, explore the interior and stop riding around the edges.

The year after Patrick and I rode around the island we were very eager to explore the interior. Here’s the thing, the only way to get to the interior is to climb a hill. Most people take Fort Hill. It is horrible. I mean, truly horrible.

This year we walked up with the kids pushing our bikes (you can’t ride your bike) and we were all huffing and puffing. Someone who works on the island came up behind us and said, “I do this everyday and it doesn’t get any easier.” That made me feel a little bit better. I would not want to climb that hill every day.

But sometimes to get to things worth seeing you have to go up hill to get there. So we did.

Once you are in the interior of the island you can see more beautiful homes, follow many trails (we still haven’t explored them all), you can visit Sugar Loaf (another rock formation) or Skull Cave.

The beauty that surrounds you as you ride around is beyond words. Places man has not touched. Birds singing their songs. I could spend all day there.

So, how is this like our spiritual lives?

Going deeper with Jesus won’t happen accidentally. Just like you can’t accidentally end up in the interior the island you won’t find yourself suddenly in a deep love relationship with Jesus. It takes intentionality and time.

You have to really want to see the interior of the island to climb up that hill. We have to really want to go deeper with Jesus to take the time it takes to get there.

If I’m not willing to spend time in His Word, in prayer, in worship I won’t get there.

It never gets easier to wake up at 5:00 a.m. Never. I am still tired every single morning, just like that worker who said she climbs that hill every day and it doesn’t get easier.

I wake up early to have alone time with Jesus. Each day is a struggle to wake up. But I know it’s worth it. I know the beauty that awaits me as I sit in His presence, as His Word washes over me.

There are still areas I haven’t explored and I never will because our God is limitless. But I will keep exploring and discovering all He has to offer me. I won’t give up.

Just as I said I could stay in the interior of the island all day, I would love to sit in Jesus’s presence all day, but I can’t. However, I take His presence with me where ever I go. I take the memory of the interior of the island with me. And because I remember what it is like I want to go again. I can’t wait to get back.

Once you have sat in Jesus’s presence you will want to go back. This is one addiction it is okay to have. Be a lover of His presence. Once you have been overwhelmed by Him you will want more. Once won’t be enough.

This reminds me of a song, I’m a Lover Your Presence. Use this song to soak in His presence. Click here.

We aren’t done yet. We have once last stop to make. Check back next week to see where we go next week.

 

 

Leave a Reply

