Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Laura Hilton September 17, 2014

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:37 am
Tags: , ,

laura

Today we get write to the point with Laura Hilton. She visited us a while ago. You can read that interview here. Read on to see what she is up to now. She has a giveaway for you 🙂

Award winning author, Laura Hilton, her husband, Steve, and their five children make their home in Horseshoe Bend, Arkansas. She is a pastor’s wife, a stay-at-home mom and home-schools three of her children. Her two oldest children are homeschool graduates and are in college. Laura is also a breast cancer survivor.

Her publishing credits include three books in the Amish of Seymour series from Whitaker House: Patchwork Dreams, A Harvest of Hearts (winner of the 2012 Clash of the Titles Award in two categories), and Promised to Another. The Amish of Webster County series, Healing Love (finalist for the 2013 Christian Retail Awards). Surrendered Love and Awakened Love. A nonAmish book Swept Away will release November 2014 from Abingdon Press. She is contracted for another three book Amish series with Whitaker House, The Amish of Jamesport series, begins in November 2014 with The Snow Globe, The Postcard in June 2015, and The Bird House in September 2015, and A White Christmas in Webster County (Amish) releasing in September 2014. Laura is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and a professional book reviewer for the Christian market, with over a thousand book reviews published at various online review sites.

 

Tell us about your newest book.   

A White Christmas in Webster County   (Whitaker House)

Wanting to relocate from Shipshewana to somewhere new, Mercy Lapp answered an ad in The Budget to work as a mother’s helper for Matthew and Shanna Yoder in Seymour, Missouri. Mercy relocated from Shipshewana to give herself space and time to heal after the death of her beau in a fishing trip on Lake Michigan. Abner Hilty fled Shipshewana to Montana to work on a ranch after he and his twin brother witnessed a murder. Now that the killer is safely behind bars, Abner decides to visit his brother Abram in Missouri where he’d settled with his bride of one month. Mercy is surprised to see Abner there, and equally surprised by how much he’d changed physically since she’d last seen him. Even though the two live in different districts they occasionally see each other in townWhiteChristmas and form a fledging friendship. As Christmas approaches, an unexpected heavy snow lets Abner and Mercy spend a lot of time together in wintertime fun. Abner hopes to interest Mercy in a more permanent relationship. But then Mercy has a potentially life changing discovery. Will she return to Shipshewana to answer the summons of the past? Or settle in a new place?

A Christmas Romance.  A chance for a new beginning. Then her past is resurrected.

 

What do you do when you’re not writing? 

I have five children, I homeschool. I am a pastor’s wife. I am a book reviewer.  When I’m not writing I’m teaching, raising children, helping with my husband’s ministry, cleaning house, running errands,  or cooking, or reading.

Where do you get your ideas? 

God gives them to me. I always pray a lot over my books. I’m a seat of the pants writer and other than a vague idea I have no ideea where my story is going to go.

Do you outline or are you a seat-of-the-pants writer? 

As I just said, I’m seat of the pants.  But even though it has been said that means that my “first draft is the outline” that is not true. I write, edit the previous days writing, write more, and when I finish the book, it is the final draft. I don’t go back and rewrite huge segments.

Have you written a book you love that you have not been able to get published? 

Yes. . . but with the world of self-publishing or small press that may change. Right now the big publishers aren’t touching them, because…. 1) not a popular genre  2) you are branded with Amish  3) we just published one similar (pick your excuse) but I’m excited about the possibilities.

Are you like any of the characters in your book? 

Who I am and how I act are totally irrelevant to the characters in the book. They are not a reinvented me.

Are you working on a new project now? 

Yes, I’m currently writing the third (and final) book in the Amish of Jamesport series. It is due to the publisher December 1.

Anything you would like to add? 

The first book in the Amish of Jamesport series, The Snow Globe,  is releasing in November.  I also have a contemporary romance, Swept Away, releasing from Abingdon about the same time.   A White Christmas in Webster County is my first Christmas story, and it ties in characters from both of my first two series, The Amish of Seymour, and The Amish of Webster County.

Connect with Laura:

http://www.amazon.com/Laura-V.-Hilton/e/B004IRSM5Q 

visit my blogs: http://lighthouse-academy.blogspot.com/  & http://lauravhilton.blogspot.com/ 

twitter: @Laura_V_Hilton

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Laura-V-Hilton/161478847242512

Purchase my books:

Amazon   http://www.amazon.com/Laura-V.-Hilton/e/B004IRSM5Q 

CBD: http://www.christianbook.com/Christian/Books/easy_find?Ntt=laura+hilton&N=0&Ntk=keywords&action=Search&Ne=0&event=ESRCG&nav_search=1&cms=1

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/laura-hilton?store=allproducts&keyword=laura+hilton

Deeper Shopping http://www.deepershopping.com/index.php?query=laura+hilton&x=0&y=0&module=productsearch&_logmode=Y&querymodule=SPX

Thanks for sharing with my readers, Laura. It’s great to hear what you are up to and how God is continuing to grow your writing.

Readers, Laura is giving away a copy of her book. Leave a comment by Sept. 23rd at 5:00 p.m. to be entered.

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Write to the Point with Laura Hilton”

  1. Sharon Timmer Says:

    I would love to win a copy of Laura’s book – it is on my TBR list – thanks for the opportunity!

  2. Linda Glenn Says:

    I love Laura’s books and look forward to reading all the new ones that come out.

  3. cynthia fernstaedt Says:

    Laura, as I read this, my thought was “what a lovely woman to have as a neighbor/friend”. Makes me excited to read your books!

  4. […] Hilton is back with us today. You can read her first two interviews here and here. Read on to see what she is up to […]


Leave a Reply

