Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Rebecca DeMarino September 24, 2014

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:38 am
Tags: , , ,

Demarino-29Today we get write to the point with Rebecca DeMarino. Take some time and get to know this author and her book.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

My dad was a Navy pilot so I was born in Pensacola, FL, graduated from high school in Corvallis, Oregon and lived many places in between. My high school sweetheart turned husband made a career of the Air Force after he graduated from Oregon State, and let me just say I’ve always enjoyed every place I’ve ever lived! My three daughters, now grown with children of their own, were born in Florida, Alaska and Nebraska. I retired from my own career with United Airlines, met my husband Tom, and between my daughters and his son and daughter, we have eleven grandchildren! I began writing my first novel in 2008.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

I was thirteen and we lived on the Naval Air Station on Guam. I grew up going to church, but at a sleep over with friends, my sister and I gave our life to Christ.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

My novel, A Place in His Heart—the story I began writing in 2008—released in June from Revell. It is historical romance and the first in a three book series, The Southold Chronicles, and is based on the real lives of my ninth great-grandparents, Barnabas and Mary Horton. They came from England on a little ship called The Swallow in the 1600’s and helped found the hamlet of Southold on Long Island. When I learned Barnabas was a widower with two young sons when he Mary wed less than a year after he lost his wife, I knew I had a story. And I wanted to give her, and the courageous women who came across the pond with their men, a voice. I hope when my readers close the book, they’ve been entertained with a story of love and loss, joy and sorrow. My takeaway in writing this book was that no matter what path we choose, God is with us, ready to hold our hand, if we but ask.

Book #2, releases this June. I can’t say the title yet, but I expect to be able to post it on my website sometime next month. Here’s a A Place in His Heart Xsneak peek at the back cover blurb: It is 1653 and Heather Flower, a princess of the Montauk tribe, is enjoying her wedding feast when her groom is killed and she is kidnapped by a rival tribe and held for ransom. Though her ransom is paid by an Englishman, she is nonetheless left to die in a Connecticut forest—until she finds herself rescued by handsome Dutch Lieutenant Dirk Van Buren. Torn between her affection for Dirk and her long friendship with family friend Benjamin Horton, Heather Flower must make a difficult choice—stay true to her friend or follow her heart. I love this story, and I hope my readers will, too! And yes, the Hortons and Southold are very much a part of it!

 

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

Well, truthfully, my blog hit a blip over the summer. But as you can imagine, there is much to write regarding the research treasures I’ve discovered, recipes inspired from the colonial kitchen, and my beautiful setting, Southold, Long Island, NY—with a good dose of genealogy mixed in! My character, Mary Horton, loved her English Pippins and with fall here my readers can look forward to some fun posts filled with apple goodies.

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

I just finished A Light in the Wilderness, by Jane Kirkpatrick. I love her books, and this one is one of her best. I cared about Letitia the moment I met her on the page.

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

I know you would probably like something more specific, but let me just say that there have been many times in my life that I have been so close to danger, but God spared me and allows me to use that in my writing. He has shown me the good, even in (or despite?) the bad.

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

I have a little bookmark, made by a lady named Viol, and given to me at church years ago. It has my name on one side, and a Bible verse on the other. I used to keep it in my Bible, but now I keep it on my desk. It is Jeremiah 33:3, “Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.” My other favorite verse that reminds me why I write is Psalm 115:1, “Not to us, O Lord, not to us. But to Your name give glory because of Your loving kindness, because of Your truth.”

Where can we find you on the web?

I’m at www.RebeccaDeMarino.com, and you can also reach me at www.facebook.com/AuthorRebeccaDeMarino.

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

Thank you so much for chatting with me!

Thank you for spending time with my readers. We love getting to know new authors. I pray God will continue to bless you on your writing journey.

 

4 Responses to “Write to the Point with Rebecca DeMarino”

  1. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson Says:

    Hello Rebecca. I have seen you on another interview about your ninth grandparents, Barnabus and Mary. I would love to win that book. Loved the post about them. Please put my name in the drawing. Thanks for the give-away Melissa. GOD bless you both! Maxie

    • Sorry to disappoint you, Maxie, but there’s not a giveaway with this post 😦

      Melissa Finnegan http://www.5020genesis.wordpress.com

      • Thank you so much, Maxie! I would love to send you a copy of A Place In His Heart! Please contact me with your address at rebecca@rebeccademarino.com ~ thank you so much for stopping by and your kind words!

        Melissa – Thank you soooo much for featuring my novel! I was flying to St. Louis for a conference the day it posted, then was delayed on my return by the fire at the Chicago airport, and if that were not enough came down with the flu the day I came home! I am just now getting up and about and catching up with things. I’m so sorry I was so delayed in stopping in, but I loved your post and so appreciate you featuring me! Take care and blessings to you!

      • Glad you’re feeling better, Rebecca 🙂 It was a pleasure having you on the blog.


Leave a Reply

