Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristy Cambron September 25, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 6:04 pm
Tags: , ,

the butterfly

Book Description:

And then came war . . .

Today. Sera James spends most of her time arranging auctions for the art world’s elite clientele. When her search to uncover an original portrait of an unknown Holocaust victim leads her to William Hanover III, they learn that this painting is much more than it seems.

Vienna, 1942. Adele Von Bron has always known what was expected of her. As a prodigy of Vienna’s vast musical heritage, this concert violinist intends to carry on her family’s tradition and play with the Vienna Philharmonic. But when the Nazis learn that she helped smuggle Jews out of the city, Adele is taken from her promising future and thrust into the horrifying world of Auschwitz.

The veil of innocence is lifted to expose a shuddering presence of evil, and Adele realizes that her God-given gift is her only advantage; she must play. Becoming a member of the Women’s Orchestra of Auschwitz, she fights for survival. Adele’s barbed-wire walls begin to kill her hope as the months drag into nearly two years in the camp. With surprising courage against the backdrop of murder and despair, Adele finally confronts a question that has been tugging at her heart: Even in the midst of evil, can she find hope in worshiping God with her gift?

As Sera and William learn more about the subject of the mysterious portrait—Adele—they are reminded that whatever horrors one might face, God’s faithfulness never falters.

My thoughts:

Wow, what an amazing book. This story is so beautifully woven, it’s seamless. Two stories woven into one outstanding book.

First we have Sera’s story that is taking place now. I love how Kristy feeds you just enough of her back story to keep you interested. Just was I was thinking, I don’t know much about Sera’s history or her wounds Kristy gave it to me…perfect. I loved the romance between Sera and William, I could feel the tension and the passion that would build between them.

Adele’s story is heartbreaking. She is caught in WWII, trying to save Jews. I don’t want to give too much of the story away but Kristy paints this aching picture of what is happening in Adele’s life, I could feel it and see it. Lost love, hopelessness, it’s all there.

The book bounces back and forth between the two stories. At one point, pretty early on Sera reveals something about Adele but I kept having hope that maybe it wasn’t true and I couldn’t wait to see how Kristy worked that out in the story.

If you enjoy WWII stories this is a must read. I can’t wait to read more from this author 🙂

Visit Kristy here.

Grab a copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping or Books-A-Million.

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through the BookLook Blogger program in exchange for an honest review.

 

2 Responses to “The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristy Cambron”

  1. D.L. Kamstra Says:

    I absolutely loved this book! It went so far beyond my expectations. I remember when I went to type up my review for it a couple of months ago, I just didn’t even know what to say. The book was so beautifully written and the story just tugged on my heart.

    I can’t wait for Cambron’s next novel in this series!


Leave a Reply

