Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

How Mackinac Island Is Like Our Spiritual Lives (Part 6) September 26, 2014

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:35 am
Tags: , ,

10-10-10 107

Downtown

Downtown

Today is our final installment of Mackinac Island and I have added a few random pics of it or from it for your viewing pleasure.

Have you enjoyed the trip? I hope so. I would love to go back this fall but it doesn’t look like it will happen:( To say I am bummed is putting it mildly, but we will be back next year.

Now you have experienced the island, what do you do? Don’t you share the trip with others? You will show off your pictures, souvenirs, talk about your favorite places. When others tell you they are going you will give them advice on what to do, where to stay, where to eat.

Like I have said, Patrick and I have gone many times but our kids had only been there once and that was several years ago. Now that they were older this year we decided to take them on the grand tour. We all rode our bikes around the island, then we went into the interior and we even ventured up to the Fort Holmes, the highest point. Both kids loved it and want to do it again next year, we couldn’t be more happy.

So, how is all of this like our spiritual lives?

Just as I said last week once you reach that high with Jesus you will want to stay. But the reality is if you do you won’t be reaching other people because not many people make it up to the highest point. Each time we have gone to Fort Holmes there were maybe one or two other people there. So if you want to be an effective Christian you must go lower again. Humble yourself and go to where the people are.

Share your experience with others and most importantly share with your children. It was such a neat experience to share the island with the kids this year and to see how they fell in love with it to and want to go back. Isn’t that what we want for them with Jesus?

10-10-10 112We must provide opportunities for our kids to encounter Him, to show them that Jesus is real and then to have our kids begging for more experiences to encounter His presence. If we can’t share our faith with our own kids then who else can we share it with? So start at home. Then move out of your circle and share your faith experiences.

Share your stories with others(Any Genesis 5020’s out there? You can share on this blog). Tell them what Jesus has done in your life. If you don’t tell them how will they ever know? Our stories must be told or we are keeping10-10-10 130 Jesus from receiving all the glory He deserves.

More than sharing Mackinac Island with you and telling you how wonderful it is I hope I have challenged your to reflect on your own faith journey. Notice I said your own. Don’t compare your journey with others. Remember, God has a specific path for each of us to take. Some of us move slower, others of us will have detours, but we all have a path.

As we leave this series ask yourself, where am I? Am I standing on the shore wishing I had I relationship with Jesus? Am I downtown still, just being a Christian consumer? Am I riding around the edges of my faith but not getting too deep? Am on a detour right now? Am I going deeper with Jesus, have I climbed that hill to get there and it seems like a lot of work but I am seeing the reward? Have you reached a spiritual high? Are you sharing your story with others?

Where am I? I’ll be honest, I think I visit all the areas still. Sometimes I can go back downtown and can be a consumer and sometimes I skirt around my faith and get jealous of those that seem to be passing me by. But for the most part I think I am living in the interior, I visit high places once in a while but I don’t live there, I wish I could. Honestly, I think most of us visit the whole island but I do think our goal should be to spend most of our time in the interior, going deeper with Jesus.

Anyone care to share where you think you might be? What challenges you might face in getting where you want to go? We’d love to hear from you. 

 

Leave a Reply

