Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Reiew and Giveaway: Tried and True by Mary Connealy September 29, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 6:10 pm
Tags: ,

tried and true

 

About:

Saddle up for a wildly fun ride with the Wilde sisters!

Kylie Wilde is the youngest sister–and the most civilized. Her older sisters might be happy dressing in trousers and posing as men, but Kylie has grown her hair long and wears skirts every chance she gets. It’s a risk–they are homesteading using the special exemptions they earned serving in the Civil War as “boys”–but Kylie plans to make the most of the years before she can sell her property and return to the luxuries of life back East.

Local land agent Aaron Masterson is fascinated with Kylie from the moment her long hair falls from her cap. But now that he knows her secret, can he in good conscience defraud the U.S. government? And when someone tries to force Kylie off her land, does he have any hope of convincing her that marrying him and settling on the frontier is the better option for her future?

My thoughts and giveaway:

What a fun book and a great story.

I am just discovering Mary’s writing and I like it. She has well developed characters with a bit of humor involved. And how could you not have humor when you have women dressed up as men?

Kylie is one spunky gal and she doesn’t want to be seen as a man anymore and Aaron Masterson sure doesn’t see her that way. Their first meeting is enough to cause a giggle and a sigh.

Kylie has one goal: get back to civilization (as she calls it). She hates being out in the country where no one else is. Aaron has one goal: move into the mountains. So what happens when attraction pulls these two together? Who will compromise, will either compromise? You’ll just have to read the book to find out.

Mary does a great job of adding humor but also dealing with deep issues, like not being enough for your dad. How many of us have dealt with that same issue? Too many, I’m guessing.

If you are looking for a wild west story with some romance and humor look no further than this book. Can’t wait to see what the Wilde sisters are up to in the next book 🙂

Visit Mary here.

Grab a copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping or Books-A-Million.

Leave a comment by Oct. 5th at 5:00 p.m. to be entered in a drawing to win your own copy. (U.S. residents only)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

20 Responses to “Reiew and Giveaway: Tried and True by Mary Connealy”

  1. Melody Durant Says:

    I L.O.V.E. everyone of Mary’s books! Need this to take back to Nicaragua!

  2. Diane Says:

    I have not read any of Mary’s books and would love to try out this new author to me. Cute cover!

  3. Elizabeth Dent Says:

    I ,I’ve the cover in your book Mary . It sounds so good . I woukd love to win Tried & True . Thanks for the chance .
    lizd235(at)gmail(dot)com

  4. I really want to read this book! Thanks for the giveaway 🙂

  5. Patty Says:

    Mary’s books always bring a smile to my face. You will enjoy going back and reading some of her previous books!

  6. Aerykah Says:

    I love Mary’s books! Been looking forward to this one for a while… Thanks for the giveaway! 🙂

    ~Aerykah
    crazybooklover7 [at] yahoo [dot] com

  7. Sharon Richmond Bryant Says:

    Enter me for this great book!!
    Conway, SC.

  8. Sharon Richmond Bryant Says:

    My E-mail address is sharonruth126@gmail.com

  9. Staci Says:

    I’ve great things about Mary Connealy. I’d love to win this book!! Staci

  10. ELIZA ELLIOT Says:

    Would love to read this one!! =)

  11. jennette Says:

    This is awesome can i enter please?

  12. lib1lady Says:

    We have Mary’s books in the church library. Thanks for giving me the opportunity to win her book.

  13. Daphne Kemmann Says:

    I have also recently discovered Mary Connealy’s writing. Tried and True sounds like a great story, plus the cover is too cute! Thank you for the giveaway opportunity!

  14. Melanie Backus Says:

    I would love this book and I am definitely keeping my fingers crossed!

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  15. Maryann Says:

    I love Mary’s writing and this looks like a great book I would love to read! Love the cover!


Leave a Reply

