Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Jerusha Agen October 1, 2014

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:14 am
Tags: , ,

Jerusha AgenToday we get write to the point with Jerusha Agen. Take a minute and get to know this author. Read to the end, she has a giveaway for you.

Jerusha Agen is a lifelong lover of story–a passion that has led her to a B.A. in English and a highly varied career. A member of American Christian Fiction Writers, Jerusha is the author of the Sisters Redeemed Series, which includes the titles This Dance, This Shadow, and This Redeemer. Jerusha co-authored the e-books A Ruby Christmas and A Dozen Apologies from Write Integrity Press.

Jerusha is also a screenwriter, and several of her original scripts have been produced as films. In addition, Jerusha is a film critic, with reviews featured at the website, www.RedeemerReviews.com
.
Jerusha relishes snowy Midwest winters spent with her three large, furry dogs and two small, furry cats.
 
Visit Jerusha’s website at www.SDGwords.com. Follow Jerusha on Twitter @SDGwords and Facebook (Jerusha Agen – SDG Words).

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I’m the youngest of four children, all of whom had the blessing of being homeschooled. Receiving my education at home in my formative years had a tremendous impact on my life, shaping me into the person I’ve become. My mother was a wonderful educator, but most importantly taught us about God, living His way, and seeing the world with His eyes. I still live in the Midwest where I was raised, and I enjoy seeing the beauty of God’s creation in the lush, green land here.

Though I didn’t always realize it, I’m one of those writers who were practically born creating stories. From an early age, I started to write out these stories in handmade books I wrote and illustrated on construction paper with cardboard for the book covers.

Naturally, I majored in English with a Creative Writing emphasis in college. I’m thankful that I was able to receive a high quality of education, which prepared me well for my future career as a writer.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

Thanks to the grace of God in giving me two Christian parents who modeled Christianity well, I came to faith when I was six years old. As I grew older, the Lord brought me to several moments when I understood more fully what Christ did for me and what being a Christian really entails. I think I’m still learning both of those lessons! But the Lord is faithful and, since being born again at that early age, He continues to give me growth in the love and knowledge of Him.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

My newest release is This Redeemer, which is Book Three in the Sisters Redeemed Series. The story is about Charlotte Davis who finds out that not all prisons have bars.

Charlotte should know—she’s lived in one for years. She can handle getting slapped around by her boyfriend, Tommy, and even being forced to do things she would never This_Redeemer_FRONT_COVER resized (655x1024)choose, but when Tommy turns on her 10-year-old daughter, Charlotte must try to escape. With nowhere else to turn, Charlotte runs to the stranger her dying mother believed would help her.

Looking only for shelter or cash, Charlotte finds a family she longs to call her own and a gentle man she could learn to love. But if Tommy catches up with Charlotte, these strangers could discover the truth about her. Will they send her back to Tommy? Or can a Father’s love set her free?

When readers finish reading that last page of This Redeemer, I most want them to take away hope. Charlotte believes she is hopelessly trapped in a dangerous, miserable existence and is riddled by guilt she won’t even admit to herself. My prayer is that readers in even the worst of situations will see through Charlotte’s story that there IS hope even in the worst of circumstances, even for the worst of sinners. There is hope because there is always a way out. There’s salvation. There’s a Redeemer. His name is Jesus.

Back cover blurb:

Not all prisons have bars.
 
Charlotte Davis should know—she’s lived in one for years. She can handle getting slapped around by her boyfriend, Tommy, and even being forced to do things she would never choose, but when Tommy turns on her 10-year-old daughter, Charlotte must try to escape. With nowhere else to turn, Charlotte runs to the stranger her dying mother believed would help her.
 
Looking only for shelter or cash, Charlotte finds a family she longs to call her own and a gentle man she could learn to love. But if Tommy catches up with Charlotte, these strangers could discover the truth about her. Will they send her back to Tommy? Or can a Father’s love set her free?
 

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

In lieu of a blog, I have two websites. One is my author site at www.SDGwords.com. At this site, you can find all the latest updates about my books and keep up with my guest posts and interviews at other blogs.

I also write film reviews from a Christian filmmaker’s perspective at the website www.RedeemerReviews.com. I had the opportunity to work in the independent film industry for a time, directing and screenwriting, and that experience combined with my lifelong love of film enables me to offer what I hope is a unique perspective on movies from a Christian worldview.

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

An interesting favorite for me is War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy. I say, “interesting,” because I actually disliked the book when I first starting reading it. But then, after I had labored through about half of the story, I found that I had come to care about the characters. Tolstoy drew me in more and more until I was brought to tears, worry, and joy by the end. That experience taught me not to dismiss a book too quickly, as well as to value depth and substance in characters over beauty or charm.

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

Oh, wow. The list of such instances in my life seems endless! One that comes to mind is the response that I received from some Christian friends when I started to write film reviews from a Christian perspective for my website, www.RedeemerReviews.com. I expected to receive harsh criticism from the secular public, but I actually haven’t had a single negative response from a non-believer. Instead, I’ve experienced some pretty intense resistance from Christians to my challenge to believers to have a truly biblical view of movies.

The worst of these negative responses came when I was just starting to get my review website going and I was in need of encouragement to know that my reviews were of worth. Instead, God allowed the enemy to send me painful attacks and consequences from my own corner. God had a plan for what, at first, seemed to only hurt me.

In order to answer the criticism from fellow believers, I had to reexamine my approach to the reviews that I wrote to ensure that the opinions I expressed in them were consistent with a biblical worldview. Through that process, God reminded and alerted me to His truths in Scripture, building my confidence until I had no doubts left that the position my reviews expressed was truly biblical and exactly what He wanted me to write.

What the enemy intended for evil, probably to make me give up in despair, God used to encourage me to continue my work with more enthusiasm, especially after I had seen the great need for Christians to embrace godly living over the relativistic religion preached in secular films.

Oh yes, I can see how the enemy would love to use what you were doing to divide Jesus’s children. Glad you found the good in that situation 🙂

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

There is a passage of scripture that I would call my ministry verse. It particularly resonates with me as a writer and a follower of the Redeemer.

Oh, that my words were recorded,

that they were written on a scroll,

that they were inscribed with an iron tool on lead,

or engraved in rock forever!

I know that my Redeemer lives,

and that in the end he will stand upon the earth.

And after my skin has been destroyed,

yet in my flesh I will see God;

I myself will see him with my own eyes–I, and not another.

How my heart yearns within me!”

– Job 19:23-27

 

Where can we find you on the web?

Please visit me at www.SDGwords.com or check out my film reviews at www.RedeemerReviews.com. You can also follow me on Twitter @SDGwords (https://twitter.com/sdgwords) and Facebook at Jerusha Agen – SDG Words (https://www.facebook.com/JerushaAgenSdgWords).

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

Thanks for having me on your blog, Melissa!

You’re welcome and thank you for visiting with my readers.

Readers, Jerusha is giving away a copy of her book to one commentator, your choice of ebook or paperback. Leave a comment by October 7th at 5:00 p.m. to be entered.

 

8 Responses to “Write to the Point with Jerusha Agen”

  1. I enjoyed getting to know a little about Jerusha Agen. She sounds like a wonderful author. I haven’t read her books yet, but look forward to reading them and adding her as one of my favorites.

  2. faithdp24 Says:

    Jerusha has one of the most remarkable websites I’ve ever seen; but it is her writing that just about blows me away! I surely intend to start reading something by her soon! Thank you for having her for an interview.

  3. Jerusha, I can’t wait to read your books. Not only does the plot intrigue me, but the message is so powerful! Not all prisons have bars. If only people could understand their true identity in Christ, so many bars would fall.

    • Jerusha Says:

      Amen, Tammy! I hope that This Redeemer will reach some of those people who still need to find freedom and will remind those of us who have freedom through Christ that we are truly free indeed!

  4. savedbygrace Says:

    How wonderful that Jerusha has known Christ as Savior from such a young age. And what a beautiful name she has! Perfect for an author (or is it a pen name?). I have read both of Jerusha’s first two books and I love how they are so God-centered. Thanks for interviewing her.

    • Jerusha Says:

      Thank you for reading my first two books! I’m so pleased that you found them to be God-centered. That’s the goal! “Jerusha” is my real name, but I’ll have to give the credit for it to my parents. 🙂 And God, of course, deserves all the thanks for bringing me to faith at an early age. It’s a tremendous blessing!


Leave a Reply

