Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Liz Tolsma October 15, 2014

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:40 am
Tags: , ,

lizToday we get write to the point with Liz Tolsma. I love Liz’s writing and I reviewed one of her books here. She is even giving away a copy to one reader. So read until the end and leave a comment for Liz.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I’m married to my high school sweetheart, Doug, and we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary last year. We have three children – a 19 year old son, a 14 year old daughter and a 12 year old daughter. We live in SE Wisconsin. I’ve been writing for about 12 years.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

I was blessed to grow up in a Christian home. I can’t remember a time when I didn’t know or love the Lord. There were times in my life when I stood at a crossroads and could have chosen a different path, but the Lord was gracious and kept me walking in His ways.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

Daisies Are Forever is, in part, my aunt’s story. She was born in the US, but her German parents returned to their homeland in 1936. She came of age in Berlin during the war. I never thought much about WWII from a German civilian’s perspective until I heard her story. It really gripped me. It’s a story of hope, redemption and restoration.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

I don’t blog as often as I should LOL! My readers have told me they like to know me as a person, so my blog is really my life as a wife, mother and author. I share our joys, ourdaisies are forever trials, and the behind-the-scenes of writing.

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

I’ve been reading a bunch of WWII fiction lately, trying to keep up with my genre. There’s Cara Putman’s Shadowed by Grace, Cathy Gohlke’s Saving Amelie, and Kristy Cambron’s The Butterfly and the Violin.

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

My Genesis 5020 was certainly my experience with infertility. I thought I knew what was good for me – carrying a baby – and I told God just that. Over and over, for many years, he denied my request. I couldn’t see how this was good for me. He worked a work in me, and my husband and I decided to adopt. The moment the young woman from the orphanage laid my son in my arms, I saw what His good and perfect plan was. He worked it out better than I could have ever imagined.

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

Romans 8:28, because God does work ALL things together for the good of those that love Him. ALL things. That was a difficult lesson for me to learn, but I have found it to be true over and over.

Where can we find you on the web?

www.liztolsma.blogspot.com

Facebook

Twitter

Barn Door blog

Good Reads

 

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

Thanks so much for having me! I’ve enjoyed it!

Thank you for spending time with my readers. I can’t wait to read your next book 🙂

Readers, Liz is giving away a copy of Daisies are Forever. Leave a comment for her by October 21st at 5:00 p.m. to be entered.

 

4 Responses to “Write to the Point with Liz Tolsma”

  1. Ann Ellison Says:

    I really enjoyed the interview and I love Liz’s books. I am really looking forward to her next one too.

  2. faithdp24 Says:

    Your interview was really enjoyable; particularly about adoption. I would love to read this book which Liz just wrote.

  3. Liz Tolsma Says:

    Thanks, Ann! I’m glad you enjoyed the interview.
    Faith, as you can see, I’m passionate about adoption. I hope you get a chance to read the book and that you enjoy it!

  4. Caryl Kane Says:

    Wonderful interview with Liz! Liz, what is your favorite worship song/group? I am looking forward to reading “Daises are Forever”.


Leave a Reply

