Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Sandra Ardoin October 22, 2014

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 10:42 am
Tags: , ,

Sandra Ardoin_HeadshotToday we get write to the point with Sandra Ardoin. She had a book release this month. Take a minute to learn about her and leave a comment to win an  e-copy of her book.

BIO:

Sandra Ardoin is a multi-published author of short fiction who writes inspirational historical romance. Her Christmas novella, The Yuletide Angel, releases October 2014. She’s the married mother of a young adult and lives in North Carolina.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

Born in Indiana and transplanted to Texas at sixteen, I think I’m finally settled in North Carolina. My husband and I have a daughter who graduated from college last spring.

My hobbies include reading and gardening. I love NASCAR, the NFL (Carolina Panthers!), and when I get a chance to see it, professional bullriding. Maybe one day, I’ll have a horse again. I miss that part of my past.

I started writing in 1986 with a poster quote being my first sale. From there, I wrote and sold devotions, greeting cards, and more posters. In 1992, I began writing children’s short stories for denominational publications. My serious novel writing didn’t begin until 2008.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

I was twelve. After fits and starts of church attendance during the first several years of my life, we settled in a church and became active. I’d received a small, plastic, glow-in-the-dark head of Jesus for my birthday and had it sitting on my nightstand. One Saturday night, I was looking at the trinket and felt the Spirit’s pull. That’s when I prayed, accepting Jesus as my Savior. The next morning I made it a public decision in church. I still have that glow-in-the-dark Jesus, though, it’s no longer on my nightstand. J

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

My novella, The Yuletide Angel, released this month. It’s Christian historical romance set during the Christmas season in 1890. Here’s a quick summary:

A shy, spinster-in-the-making, Violet Madison secretly delivers food to the poor at Christmas and earns the title The Yuletide Angel. When confirmed bachelor Hugh Barnes Ardoin - TYA Coverdiscovers the truth, he vows to protect her—in secret. Neither realizes someone else waits in the shadows, threatening to ruin Violet’s generosity and her reputation.

The themes of this novella are forgiveness, trust, and pride. We’ll never forgive or learn to trust if we don’t make an effort, and sometimes, we can become prideful even when something is done with the best of intentions.

It’s available on Amazon.com.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

On my personal blog, I post on Tuesdays and an occasional Friday. I do Christian book reviews and run the ACFW new releases list. Sometimes, I host a guest author. I aim my blog at readers of Christian fiction.

I’m also the Wednesday hostess for the Seriously Write blog where we encourage writers and post writing tips.

Once every quarter, I’ll be posting a mystery/suspense book review on the Suspense Sisters blog.

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

Of course, this changes over time, but in the past few years I’ve read Tamera Alexander’s From a Distance and Rekindled at least twice each. I’ve also become a big fan of Elizabeth Camden and love her novel Against the Tide.

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

This may not be quite what you’re looking for, but I consider it a story of God’s provision against Satan’s troublemaking.

When we moved from Texas to North Carolina at the end of 1995, we left in the early evening in terrible weather (Dallas was expecting ice). We’d been up since early morning with the closing on the house and waiting on the movers. I drove our ’72 Celica, towing a small boat, and my husband drove an old pickup, towing a small U-Haul trailer. He had our daughter and dog with him. About an hour out of Dallas, the car started giving me an oil problem. We babied it along for what was supposed to be a twelve hour drive to my in-laws in Mobile. When we reached Shreveport, the car smoked so bad, I was pulled over by the police, who graciously let me go on without giving me a ticket for polluting their air. That poor vehicle chugged and smoked all the way to Mobile, arriving several hours late. We reached my in-laws and it died a noble death. Fortunately, they had a vehicle to loan us for the rest our trip. My husband and I have never forgotten that trip or the way God protected us! It’s always a reminder of His provision.

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

Too many to whittle down to one.

As far as my writing is concerned, I’ve always relied on Jeremiah 29:11-13. There’s so much hope there. I fully believe God has a plan for our lives, which includes our writing. To go along with that, I’ve always loved Isaiah 55:8 – “‘For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,’ declares the Lord.”

One of my favorite books in the Bible is Colossians—so much great stuff there, like 1:17 “He (Jesus) is before all things, and in him all things hold together.” Gives me goosebumps.

Where can we find you on the web?

Visit me at www.sandraardoin.com and the Seriously Write blog. Connect with me on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads. Check out my Pinterest board for The Yuletide Angel. Sign up for my newsletter to receive upcoming news, fun facts, and special offers.

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

First, Melissa, I want to thank you for letting me tell you about myself and my novella.

Second, I keep telling people that God spit this story out for me, so my desire is that it blesses others. It has certainly blessed me.

And third! The Yuletide Angel has led to a contracted novel (my debut in that length), A Reluctant Melody. The story revolves around my hero’s brother, Kit, and will release in early 2016.

Congratulations! That’s wonderful news. Thanks so much for taking the time to visit with my readers.

Readers, Sandra is giving away an ecopy of her book to one commentator. Leave a comment by October 28th  at 5:00 p.m. to be entered in the drawing.

No purchase necessary to enter or win. Giveaways start and end on the dates and times posted. Odds of winning depend upon the number of entries.Entrant must be 18 years or older at the time of entry. Participation is subject to an entrant’s local laws. Participation is restricted to residents of the United States. See Sandra’s website for additional disclaimers.

 

 

12 Responses to “Write to the Point with Sandra Ardoin”

  1. Thank you for having me, Melissa, and letting me share a little about myself and my book. 🙂

  2. I would love to win Sandra’s book. It sounds like a good one.Sandra is new to me.
    s bok. It sounds good. Maxie > mac262(at)me(dot)com <

  3. christy c Says:

    This looks like a great holiday read. Would love to sit back and enjoy this one. Thanks for the giveaway opportunity. christyjc(at)bellsouth(dot)net

  4. Carol Umfer Says:

    Enjoyed reading your interview. God is the center of your life as shown by how you were guided by love as you traveled to your Inlaw’s. I would certainly like to read The Yuletide Angel, just perfect for the holiday season. Thank you the chance to get to know you and your writings.

  5. Bree Says:

    This sounds like a beautiful read. Thank you for the opportunity to win.

  6. KayM Says:

    Hi Melissa, It is nice to “meet” a new author. Sandra, I enjoyed reading about you and your book. I love reading Christmas stories throughout the holiday season. I’m sure I’d enjoy reading yours. Thank you for offering a copy.
    may_dayzee (AT) yahoo (DOT) com


Leave a Reply

