Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

A Matter of Heart by Tracie Peterson October 23, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:35 pm
Tags: , ,

a matter of heart

About:

Texas born and raised Jessica Atherton is a wealthy young woman whose heart was broken when the man she intended to marry wedded another. But her world is upended when two new men come into her life, and both manage to stir her heart.

Harrison Gable is a successful young lawyer with ambitions that match Jessica’s dreams. His warm, attentive manner and thoughtful gifts make her feel special.

Austin Todd, a former Secret Service agent, enjoys working now as a Texas Ranger cattle inspector. But after learning of forged gold certificates and missing printing plates, he’s drawn back into the world of intrigue and agrees to help solve the case. Jessica is drawn to his kind nature and the unspoken pain she sees in his eyes.

If Jessica follows her heart, where will it lead?

My thoughts:

This wasn’t a book that grabbed me right away and I’m not even sure why. Tracie did everything right but I just had trouble connecting with the story…until about page 100 and then I had to see what would happen.

Jessica is a young women struggling with the person she has been in the past and how people perceive her. She wants to change but change doesn’t come as easy as she thought. Who can’t relate to that? She finds herself falling back into old patterns of thought and gets frustrated at her fall backs.

The two men in Jessica’s life make things much more interesting. I immediately liked Austin and his mysterious, quiet way. Harrison was a bit more bold and I could see why Jessica would be drawn that but something in me didn’t really trust him at first. You’ll have to read the book to see if there was a reason I couldn’t trust him:)

This is a series but I didn’t feel like I had missed out on anything that wouldn’t allow me to enjoy this book, so I think this can be read as a stand-alone, since I haven’t read the other books.

If you enjoy Tracie Peterson and historical romance this might be a book you want to take a look at.

Visit Tracie here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping or Books-A-Million.

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

