Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Motherless by Erin Healy October 30, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 12:30 pm
Tags: , ,

motherlessAbout:

A whispering voice at the back of my mind reminds me that I’ve been this way for some time. Dead, that is.

The dead have a very broad view of the living, of actions performed out of sight, of thoughts believed to be private. I would know. Losing both parents is a trial no child should endure, and Marina and Dylan have endured enough. They deserve the one thing I could never give them: a mother’s love.

A mother’s love, and the truth.

My children have believed a lie about me for years and years. After all this time I can still feel their hurt in my heart. But the tether holding me to them is frayed from years of neglect . . . and I have to find a way to make my confession before it snaps.

But when the truth comes out, what other beasts will I unleash?

“Why do we lie to the children?” someone asked me once.

“To protect them,” I answered.

How terrible it is that they need protection from me.

My thoughts:

I have never read a book by Erin Healy before, although I have heard good things.

Wow. This book blew me away. It totally bent my mind. Just as I start to think I know what to expect she slams me with a completely unexpected twist.

From the first pages I was hooked and knew I loved her style. It is so different from any other Christian fiction I have ever read.

Truthfully, I don’t think this book will be for everyone. I think some people might be troubled by it. I am pretty open-minded when it comes to fiction so the story line didn’t bother me. Basically you have a parent observing their child but they aren’t really there, they are sort of a ghost (for lack of a better word) watching things play out.

Overall, this is a story of a broken family in need of healing. Who can relate to that? So many of us. We see kids with issues that stem from wounds in the past, we see parents covering up their past sins. Yeah, this story speaks to the heart of so many of us.

This is a book I highly recommend for anyone who likes something different and wants a story to touch the broken places in their soul.

Visit Erin here.

Grab you copy at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping or Books-A-Million.

A e-copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

