Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: At Bluebonnet Lake by Amanda Cabot November 3, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 5:36 pm
Tags: ,

at blue bonnet lake

About:

Her life is set to warp speed. His is slowing to a crawl. But love has its own timing.

Marketing maven Kate Sherwood’s world is fast-paced, challenging, and always changing. The last thing she wants to do is grind to a halt at Rainbow’s End, a dilapidated resort in the Texas Hill Country. Still, she cannot deny her ailing grandmother’s request to visit the place where she and her deceased husband spent one glorious week fifty years ago. There, Kate meets Greg, who appears to be the resort’s unassuming handyman. But there’s more to Greg than meets the eye–billions more, in fact.

Kate isn’t looking for romance, but she can’t deny the sparks of attraction that fly every time she and Greg are together. Could there be a future there? Or will Kate’s long-sought promotion take her back to the big city?

Amanda Cabot invites you to step into a place away from the pressures of the day. You might be surprised by what you find at Rainbow’s End.

My thoughts and giveaway:

Rainbow’s End is a charming destination. Amanda really brought the place to life. I could picture the atmosphere, the characters and town.

She did a great job of building a bit of mystery around Greg. I wanted to know why he didn’t still have his job, what happened in his past that he was running from.

Kate is a likeable character and I wanted so much for her to open her eyes and not miss God’s plan for her life.

However, this wasn’t a book that I couldn’t put down. I too easily could put it down and I wasn’t overly eager to pick it back up. For me I think it lacked intensity but overall it was a good story with a great setting and characters.

I couldn’t wait to see how Amanda would work things out for Rainbow’s End and how Greg and Kate would play a part in that.

You’ll just have to read the book to see how she does that. Amanda Cabot fans will be pleasantly surprised by her writing in this new genre.

Visit Amanda here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, or Books-A-Million.

Leave a comment by November 9th at 5:00 p.m. to be entered to win a copy. (U.S. residents only)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

13 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: At Bluebonnet Lake by Amanda Cabot”

  1. Karen Spiegel Says:

    Sounds like a delightful story. Uplifting and enjoyable. Would love to win this book. Thank you.

  2. Melanie Backus Says:

    Count me in on this one…it sounds wonderful!

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  3. Aerykah Says:

    Would love to win this book! Thanks for the giveaway! 🙂

    crazybooklover7 [at] yahoo [dot] com

  4. jennette Says:

    Can i enter please?

    Jennettelebeau@yahoo.com

  5. Faith Posten Says:

    An enjoyable interview/review. Thank you Melissa. Thanks for the Give Away.

  6. Merry Says:

    I love the rebuilding of a resort, it touches my fixer-upper side! Please add me for At Bluebonnet Lake, it sounds like a sweet story. Thanks.

  7. The cover caught my attention right off the bat. Hope to read this.

  8. Please drop my name in the hat!

  9. kelly @kellyblackwell Says:

    I love the cover truly and there is just something about a small town, even a small town retreat that just makes me want to escape my own place and move on in. Please include me in your giveaway. KellysShining(at)gmail(dot)com

  10. Amanda Cabot Says:

    Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review my book. I really appreciate your sharing your opinions with readers.


Leave a Reply

