Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: The Princess Spy by Melanie Dickerson December 1, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 5:26 pm
Tags: , ,

the princess spy

Book Description:

Margaretha has always been a romantic, and she hopes her newest suitor, Lord Claybrook, is destined to be her one true love. But then an injured man is brought to Hagenheim Castle, claiming to be an English lord who was attacked by Claybrook and left for dead. And only Margaretha—one of the few who speaks his language—understands the wild story.

Unable to pass his message on to her father, the duke, Margaretha convinces herself “Lord Colin” is just an addled stranger. But when Colin asks her to spy on Claybrook as repayment for retrieving a lost heirloom, Margaretha discovers that she might be very wrong about both Colin and her potential betrothed.

About the Author

Melanie Dickerson is the author of The Healer’s Apprentice, a Christy Award finalist and winner of the National Reader’s Choice Award for Best First Book. Melanie earned a bachelor’s degree in special education from the University of Alabama and has been a teacher and a missionary. She lives with her husband and two daughters in Huntsville, Alabama.

My thoughts and giveaway:

I really enjoyed this story. Melanie Dickerson is a wonderful author who knows how to weave a beautiful plot full of romance and adventure. The words seemed to flow off the page which made this an easy read.

Margaretha is a princess who doesn’t have much confidence in herself. She knows she likes to talk a lot and this can get her in trouble. It doesn’t help that her brothers tease her about this. She also doesn’t feel like much of a leader but what will she do when she is forced to be a leader and help save her fathers kingdom? You’ll have to read to find out 🙂

Collin is a wonderful hero who becomes even more driven to nail Claybrook when he finds out that Claybrook is trying to woe Margaretha.

I loved how Melanie worked a language barrier into the book as well, and Margaretha has to freshen up her English in order to even understand what Colin is trying to tell her.

Overall, I think I enjoyed the adventure more than the romance in this book as the romance was a bit of a slower build for me. But a great read and highly recommended for anyone who loves princess and castle type stories for grown-ups 🙂

Visit Melanie here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping or Books-A-Million.

Leave a comment by December 12th for your chance to win your own copy. (U.S. residents only)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers program in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

11 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: The Princess Spy by Melanie Dickerson”

  1. Caryl Kane Says:

    Thank you for your review. I love reading about princesses and castles. 🙂

  2. Pam K. Says:

    My daughter and I have enjoyed all of Melanie’s books. I always buy them for my daughter’s birthday and Christmas gifts. We are both looking forward to The Princess Spy. It has a great title and lovely cover. I like how Melanie has interconnected the characters in her books.

  3. I’ve heard wonderful things about this author, but haven’t had the opportunity to read her books yet. Please drop my name in the hat! 🙂

  4. Patty Says:

    I’ve enjoyed one or two of Melanie’s books, and would love the chance to read this newest one!

  5. Melody Durant Says:

    Now this looks interesting…. suspense?

  6. I really enjoyed your review and I would love to win a copy for my teenage daughter and myself to enjoy! Thanks for the opportunity.

  7. lib1lady Says:

    We have “The Healer’s Apprentice” in the church library. I would love to win “The Princess Spy” to add to our collection.
    Thanks!

  8. Melanie Backus Says:

    Thank you for the wonderful review. Keeping my fingers crossed!

    mauback55 at gmail dot com


Leave a Reply

