Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Review and Giveaway: Love Unexpected by Jody Hedlund December 22, 2014

Filed under: Book Reviews,Monday Musings — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:23 pm
Tags: , , , ,

LoveUnexpected_mck.indd

About:

1859
Presque Isle, Michigan

What Is the Secret That Could Shipwreck Both of Their Lives?

All Emma Chambers ever wanted was a home, but when her steamboat sinks just outside Presque Isle, she’s left destitute and with no place to stay.

An unlikely solution arises when the lighthouse keeper arrives in town. He’s just lost his wife and is having a difficult time caring for his child. So a traveling preacher gets the idea that the keeper and Emma might be the answer to each other’s dilemma. After a hasty marriage, she finds herself heading to the lighthouse with this handsome but quiet stranger. Nothing in her aimless life, though, has prepared her for parenting a rambunctious toddler, as well as managing a household.

Emma soon suspects Patrick may be hiding something from her, and then she hears a disturbing rumor about the circumstances surrounding his late wife’s death. It seems as if her wish for a home and family of her own could end up leading her once more into turbulent waters.

My thoughts and giveaway:

Jody Hedlund has written another beautiful book with well-developed characters that have flaws and a back story that she slowly reveals just as you need it.

I love that Jody is a Michigan author and this is another book set in Michigan. It was fun to Google images of the lighthouse in this book and see it with my own eyes.

Emma is a lovely heroine who is just trying to find her way. She has no idea how beautiful she truly is and I love that humbleness in her. She is thrown into being a wife and mother and doesn’t find it easy at all since she has had no preparation as most women her age would’ve have been raised to have a family.

Patrick has embraced the amazing grace of Jesus but still struggles with the demons in his past. He has been running from his past and fears the day it will catch up with him.

Even though Emma and Patrick are married their romance is a slow build filled with tender moments.

If you are a Jody Hedlund fan I think you will be pleased with this book and even if you aren’t but enjoy a good historical romance this is a book I recommend.

Visit Jody here.

Grab your copy at your local bookstore, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Christianbook.com, Deeper Shopping or Books-A-Million.

Leave a comment by January 3rd for your chance to win a copy. (U.S. residents only)

A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

25 Responses to “Review and Giveaway: Love Unexpected by Jody Hedlund”

  1. Caryl Kane Says:

    Thank you for your review of Love Unexpected! I would love to read this book. πŸ™‚
    psalm103and138[at]gmail[dot]com

  2. KayM Says:

    I’ve been looking forward to reading this book. Your review entices me even more to get to it. thank you for offering a copy. Blessings and Merry Christmas…
    may_dayzee (AT) yahoo (DOT) com

  3. I always love her books! I’m really looking forward to reading this one! Thanks for your review and giveaway!

  4. Wonderful review Sounds like a great book
    May I wish all of you a terrific, wonderful, God-blessed Christmas
    Chris
    granvilleATfrontiernetDOTnet

  5. faithdp24 Says:

    It sounds like a wonderful story to me. I am a collector of Lighthouses or at least I was before I got to be such a senior! LOL Now I’m trying to give things away to family members. But I digress. The story is my favorite kind. For some reason I have always liked stories where couples marry and then fall madly in love! Not sure why; but just always have. Thank you for the opportunity to win a copy of this wonderful book. Have a Blessed and Merry Christmas!

  6. Pam K. Says:

    I’ve enjoyed reading several of Jody’s books. This sounds like another great book. Thanks for the chance to win Love Unexpected. Merry Christmas!

  7. Maxie Lloyd-Hamilton Anderson Says:

    Hello. Jody writes lots of good books . I would love to win this one. Hope y all have a Merry Christmas as we celebrate the birthday of Jesus Christ Also hope 2015 will be good t0 you.
    Maxie > mac262(at)me(dot)com <

  8. wendynewcomb Says:

    Thank you for the chance to win this book, I love Jody’s work and always look forward to hernew books.

    wfnren(at)aol(dot)com

  9. I read the first chapter of “Love Unexpected” in the novella preceding the series. It definitely left me wanting more of the story! Thanks for the opportunity to win a copy.

    gwen[dot]gage[at]gmail[dot]com

  10. Patty Says:

    Thank you for the lovely review. I have read each one of Jody’s books up to this point and would love to add this to the lost!

  11. Merry Says:

    I really want to read Jody’s story, it sounds like a tender love story of a new mother and a romantic awakening as well. Thanks for the chance to win it!
    worthy2bpraised at gmail dot com

  12. lorlyn63 Says:

    I like Jody’s books and this one sounds like a good read. Please enter me into your drawing and thank you for the opportunity! triplel(at)evertek(dot)net

    Blessings,
    Lori

  13. Maryann Says:

    Jody is a new author to me. I love the book’s cover and this story sounds wonderful for winter reading. Have a blessed holiday season. Thanks for the great review Melissa.

  14. Thanks for the review and the chance to win! Jody Hedlund’s one of my favorite historical fiction authors! =)

  15. Melanie Backus Says:

    Thank you for a great review. This one sounds like a winner and I would love to be one too!

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  16. Laura Drumb Says:

    This book sounds so intriguing and I would love to win a copy! Thanks for offering it and for your well-written review.

    drumb at att dot net

  17. Thanks for all the many comments. Sorry I haven’t been able to reply to each of you individually, crazy busy time, as I am sure it is for all of you as well. Have a Happy New Year everyone!!


Leave a Reply

