Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

When God Says No January 9, 2015

Filed under: Melissa's devotions/articles — Melissa Finnegan @ 11:57 am
Tags: ,
By Jens Mayer

By Jens Mayer

This is a devo I wrote several years ago when my daughter was still into dolls. Those days have passed but the message remains the same 🙂

My daughter sat the table one morning crying. I broke the news to her that she would not be getting the $70 doll she wanted for her birthday. She was upset, she wanted the doll badly.

Her father and I know what she does with dolls. She will play with it for a few days and it is soon forgotten. That is okay for a more inexpensive doll, but if we are going to spend $70 we want it to be something she will enjoy for a long time.

 

What she doesn’t know is that she will be getting a new bike. This is a gift she will be able to play with for a few years. It will not be easily forgotten and will have many benefits to it.

 

As I watched my little girl’s heart break I realized I am often the little crying and saying to God, “But I really wanted that.  That is what I wanted, why can’t I have it?”

 

Often time the things we think we want or need are not at all what is best for us. It might not have a lasting effect on our lives, or at least, maybe not a positive lasting effect, and God says “No, you aren’t getting that.”

 

We begin to whine and cry and maybe even get angry with God. That is when He leans down close to us and says, “I have something far better planned for you. Something you will enjoy much longer and will have many benefits to it.”

 

It really is all about trusting.

My daughter needs to trust that her father and I have her best interest at heart and she will get a wonderful gift for her birthday. It’s with that same trust that we must trust our Heavenly Father who has our best interest at heart and we will get something wonderful as well, perhaps something we never even imagined or dared ask for.

 

So the next time I start whining and complaining about God saying no to something I thought I desperately needed, I will remember that He has something even better planned for me and I simply need to trust in His Sovereignty and that He is good all the time, yes, all the time He is good.

 I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen. Ephesians 3:16-21 NIV

Have you ever asked God for something and He said no and gave you something else? Can you see how that something else was better than what you wanted? Care to share? We would love hear, leave a comment 🙂

 

2 Responses to “When God Says No”

  1. KayM Says:

    Thanks, Melissa, for your inspiration this morning! I hope you have a wonderful day.


Leave a Reply

