Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Marian P. Merritt January 21, 2015

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 4:03 pm
Tags: , ,

marianToday we get write to the point with Marian P. Merritt. Read on to learn more about her.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

Hello everyone! About myself? Hmmm. Well, to start with, I write Women’s Fiction and Romance. My tagline is Where the Bayous Meet the Mountains. As a Louisiana native who is living in Colorado this describes both my stories and me. My books have a Colorado/Louisiana connection.

My husband and I live in a small ranching community in the northwest Colorado mountains. I’ve been seriously writing for ten years and had my first novella published in 2012. So for you new writers out there—don’t give up. Sometimes it takes awhile! I believe God’s timing is perfect.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

I’ve always known Jesus as my Savior from as far back as I can remember, but it’s only been the last decade that I’ve truly come to KNOW HIM. It’s a relationship that continues to bring peace, growth, understanding, and trust. I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

My book, The Vigil, releases February 20, 2015 from Harbourlight Books. Here’s the back cover blurb:

Cheryl Broussard made two vows: She’d never fall for an abusive man, and she’d never return to her Louisianavigil hometown. But she’s learned all too well the lesson of never-say-never. Now, back in Bijou Bayou after fleeing from an abusive boyfriend, Cheryl finds work as a Hospice nurse. While reading a dying patient’s Korean War love letters, family secrets shatter Cheryl’s beliefs about her family and herself and shed light on the reason she fled her hometown. When the Broussard family secrets are revealed, can Cheryl deal with the truth and accept the blessing of a second chance for relationships with her family, old friends, and with the God she never really knew?

All authors want to leave their readers satisfied. I’m no different. But mostly, I hope that my readers would feel they’ve been given something to ponder after they’ve read the last page.

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

My blog is primarily to help promote other authors. Each Monday is an author interview or a book blurb. Occasionally I’ll add a recipe or some interesting tidbit, but primarily I like to promote other authors. If you’re looking for new authors or new books, sign up for the Monday Author Visit. Here’s the link: www.marianmerritt.blogspot.com

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

Wow, I’ve so many. But the books that changed my path were Francine Rivers’ The Mark of the Lion Series. After reading those books, I began writing Christian Fiction.

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

I’m not sure if this is the “typical” Genesis 5020, but I believe it showcases how God can place His people in positions on the enemy’s ground and turn it to good.

Last August my husband, an avid Motorcycle enthusiast, wanted to go to the Bike Rally in Sturgis and wanted me to go with him. I really didn’t want to go based on all I’d heard about what goes on at those rallies. So I prayed a lot about whether or not to attend. When I got clear direction from the Lord, I agreed to go. Most of the things we saw weren’t any different than we’d see at the local mall. There were a few things that were risqué including this one lady. Very tall and I’m assuming beautiful. Her whole body was painted red, she wore a very provocative lingerie type costume that didn’t cover certain critical parts, and she had horns. When I first saw her, two small boys (maybe 6 – 7) were walking with, I guessed, their mother along the street. As they passed by this painted lady, I thought surely the mother would steer them away. Instead she pushed the boys toward her and took a picture of them with this woman! I couldn’t believe what I’d seen. My path crossed with this woman at least four-five times during a two-day span. Each time I saw her she had a lovely smile, but her eyes were vacant. Lifeless. I began to pray for her and those little boys. I still do. So I wonder. Had I followed my initial instinct and shied away from Sturgis, would those people have anyone praying for them?

Beautiful, love it and how true. Maybe your soul purpose for attending was to intervene in the lives of those people. Thanks for sharing that.

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.” Matthew 7:7-8 NIV

ASK Publishers, my Independent publishing company, was named from this verse.

This year is my seeking year. So I’m really excited to see what God wants me to find!

Where can we find you on the web?

Website, Blog, Facebook, Twitter

Also, I’m looking for readers to be part of my Reader’s Group. I’ll have books giveaways, share things I don’t share on my regular Facebook page, and will request Beta readers (readers who read the book before it goes through the publishing process) from this group. If you’d like to be part of my reader’s group, go to the following link: https://www.facebook.com/groups/marianpmerritt/

It’s always exciting to get to know readers!

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

For readers who enjoy Facebook parties, The Vigil will be part of a book launch hosted by Women’s Fiction Writers Association. I’d love for you to visit. I’ll be sharing some behind-the-scenes tidbits, discussing the storyline and the setting, and answering questions about the book. I’m also giving away a copy of The Vigil. Seeing you there would be a real treat! Let me know you heard about it here, on Melissa’s blog.

Mark your calendars: February 3, 2015

To like their Facebook page and join the launch party go to: https://www.facebook.com/WFWritersAssociation

Melissa, thanks so much for allowing me to share with your readers!

Thank you for sharing with my readers. We always enjoy hearing from authors. Be blessed:)

 

7 Responses to “Write to the Point with Marian P. Merritt”

  1. Caryl Kane Says:

    Melissa, I enjoyed this interview with Marian. I am encouraged to keep seeking His Face.

    Blessings
    Caryl

  2. delialatham Says:

    Loved the interview, Melissa and Marian – particularly Marian’s 5020 story. I find it encouraging and breathtaking that our God would send Marian all the way to that bike rally solely to provide a prayer link for one woman and two little boys. Isn’t it amazing that we have a heavenly Father who cares THAT much about each one of us? Great story, Marian. Thank you for sharing it.

  3. Melissa, thanks for hosting me here!

  4. Ann Ellison Says:

    I really enjoyed Marian’s interview. I have just finished reading The Vigil and it is a very powerful and beautiful story.


Leave a Reply

