Genesis 5020

My Story for His Glory

Write to the Point with Misty Beller February 11, 2015

Filed under: Author Interviews — Melissa Finnegan @ 1:37 pm
Tags: , ,

mistyToday we get write to the point with Misty Beller. Read on to learn more about her.

Misty Beller was raised on a farm in South Carolina, so her Southern roots run deep. Growing up, her family was close, and they continue to keep that priority today. Her husband and two daughters now add another dimension to her life, keeping her both grounded and crazy.

God has placed a desire in Misty’s heart to combine her love for Christian fiction and the simpler ranch life, writing historical novels that display God’s abundant love through the twists and turns in the lives of her characters.

Writing is a dream come true for Misty. Her family—both immediate and extended—is the foundation that holds her secure in that dream.

Tell us about yourself, family, where are you from, how long have you been writing?

I’m a South Carolina girl, born and raised on the “family farm.” We still live close to my family, even though I’m married now with two wonderful daughters. My family, both immediate and extended, are incredibly precious to me! I started writing novels about four years ago. I was putting together my bucket list, and realized that I really did want to write a novel. So, “Write a novel that’s published” made it near the top! I decided, it’s now or never, and made the commitment to do it.

How did you come to know Jesus as your Savior?

I come from a wonderful, godly family, and was taught the Bible from an early age. My decision moment came when I was four years old, but I still remember it. I was watching a Christian kid’s show, Gospel Bill, and at the end of the video, they said a short prayer and invited viewers to pray with them. I said the prayer to ask Jesus in my heart, and was so excited I ran to tell my mom. J

Tell us about your latest book(s). What do want your readers to take away after the last page?

Leah Townsend, a recently orphaned heiress, flees Richmond after discovering her fiancé’s plot to kill her after their wedding. She needs a safe place to hide, and finds herself accepting a newspaper marriage proposal from a God-fearing young rancher in the Montana Territory. But when Leah arrives at the mountain ranch, she learns her intended husband was killed by a grizzly, leaving behind a bitter older brother and a spunky younger sister.

When Gideon Bryant finds a city girl standing in his log cabin, his first thought is to send her back where she came from. He’s lost too many people to the wild elements of these mountains––his parents, his wife, and now his brother.Mountain Man cover His love for this untamed land lives on, but he’s determined not to open his heart to another person.

But when an accident forces Leah to stay at the ranch for seven more months, can Gideon protect his heart from a love he doesn’t want? Has Leah really escaped the men who seek her life?

This a story about releasing our own desires to find God’s direction for your life, which is a constant struggle for me!

How often do you blog and what do you cover in your blog?

My blog is for my readers! I love to share a little about what’s going on with my books, get reader feedback on storylines, cover art, etc., and share special traditions.

Can you share with us a favorite book you have read?

Wow, this is a tough one! The Bible, of course. There are hundreds of other books that have become my favorites. (yes, hundreds). So hard to pick one! I’m currently reading Lady of Milkweed Manor by Julie Klassen. She’s such a talented regency author!

Can you share with us a Genesis 5020 in your life?

Wow. When I look back, I see God’s hand everywhere in my life—guiding me, molding, and creating good from bad situations! About a year and a half ago, my husband’s job had become incredibly stressful, to the point it was severely affecting his health. He finally left that company, and I struggled to come to terms with the change! I worried, stressed, and juggled the budget. It felt like one of the worst things that could have happened, but over the next few months, the quality of our family interactions began to change for the better. We were ALL so much more relaxed, pleasant, and joyful. The fear of the unknown began to subside as we realized that God was turning what looked like a rough situation into a joyful experience!

Do you have a life and/or a ministry verse?

Colossians 1:9-11 is my prayer for all my readers:

“For this cause we also, since the day we heard it, do not cease to pray for you, and to desire that ye might be filled with the knowledge of his will in all wisdom and spiritual understanding;

That ye might walk worthy of the Lord unto all pleasing, being fruitful in every good work, and increasing in the knowledge of God;

Strengthened with all might, according to his glorious power, unto all patience and longsuffering with joyfulness.”

Where can we find you on the web?

You can find me on my website, blog, Goodreads, Twitter, Google+, and Pinterest. Or I’d love for you to check out my books The Lady and the Mountain Man or my upcoming release The Lady and the Mountain Doctor.

Is there anything I didn’t ask that you would like to add?

Thanks so much for hosting me, Melissa! It’s been a pleasure.

You’re welcome and thanks so much for sharing with my readers!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

